McCarthy ‎– That's All Very Well But

Midnight Music ‎– Chime 00.41
Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Test Pressing


A1 Red Sleeping Beauty 3:42
A2 The Myth Of The North-South Divide 2:58
A3 The Funeral 2:14
A4 This Nelson Rockefeller 3:59
A5 The Vision Of Peregrine Worsthorne (Different Version) 2:50
A6 The Fall (Remix) 1:47
A7 Should The Bible Be Banned (7" version) 3:06
B1 We Are All Bourgeois Now 4:45
B2 From The Damned 3:25
B3 You're Alive 2:11
B4 Keep An Open Mind Or Else 3:09
B5 For The Fat Lady 2:07
B6 Charles Windsor (Remix) 2:00
B7 Frans Hals 3:13


Originally this record was planned to be released on March 25th, 1991 by Midnight Music in 3 different formats (LP/CD/MC). Midnight Music went bankrupt shortly before the album was due to be released, but a few vinyl test pressings exist. The catalogue number was due to be CHIME 00.41 D/CD/CC and the first 5,000 LPs would have been released with a bonus Mini-LP called "We'll Get You You Creeps"

The track listing is derived from a test pressing, and is completely different from the 1996 Cherry Red compilation of the same name.

It is possible to tell which side is A and B: A1 and B1 is etched in the run-out groove. Only one side has been stamped.

The promo booklet was due to include the following text:

"McCarthy may well be no more... that's all very well, but... they've left us with many fine memories and a rich heritage of classic sounds. Most of the material on this album is no longer available and most of it was never available on album. None of it has ever been on CD or cassette before. Because there was such a wealth to choose from, the CD and cassette are bulging with extra tracks - and so that vinyl fetishists don't miss out, the first 5,000 come replete with a whole mini-LP of extra tracks, a few of which didn't make it onto the CD or cassette. Confused? You most probably will be! To cap it all, there were still a few goodies that got left out.

A combination of 'best of' and collectable rarities, "That's All Very Well But" satisfies both approaches with this fitting testament to the McCarthy legend. From the tension of "Red Sleeping Beauty" through the spine-tingling melody of "This Nelson Rockefeller" to the soap-box tirade of "Keep An Open Mind Or Else", this vintage collection traces their whole career, illustrating the depth of their lyrics and their musical development.

All McCarthy's previous records were well-received throughout certain sections of the media with consistent entries in the Independent Charts; expect this to do the same."

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: No barcode
  • Label Code: Chime 00:41