McGuinn, Clark & Hillman ‎– Armadillo World Headquarters Austin, TX, 1979

Air Cuts ‎– ACCD8018
CD, Remastered, Unofficial Release


1 Sad Boy
2 Long Long Time
3 Little Mama
4 Don’t You Write Her Off
5 Release Me Girl
6 Turn Turn Turn
7 Surrender To Me
8 Chestnut Mare
9 It Doesn’t Matter
10 Feelin’ Higher
11 You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere
12 Backstage Pass
13 Stopping Traffic
14 So You Wanna Be A Rock And Roll Star / Encore Call
15 Mr. Tambourine Man
16 Eight Miles High
17 I’ll Feel A Whole Lot Better
18 Bye Bye, Baby

Companies, etc.


The McGuinn, Clark and Hillman project came when the three former founding members of the Byrds attempted a triple bill tour with their respective solo bands in Europe in 1977. The subsequent reunion two years later was felt to be an extension of what the original band had accomplished and that no disco lick from their latest album could dilute it. Their legendary appearance at the famed Armadillo World Headquarters in Austin Texas in 1979 survives as only one of a handful of FM broadcasts that captures the pivotal essence of the legendary Byrds. The return of Gene Clark alongside Chris Hillman and Roger McGuinn was a profound chapter in the later careers of these seminal figures who choose to showcase their new album in true Byrds’ fashion with a glorious smattering of classics from the Byrds’ songbook.
Air Cuts proudly presents the entire original KUT-FM broadcast of Roger McGuinn, Gene Clark and Chris Hillman performing live together at Austin’s Armadillo World Headquarters, Texas from 22nd May 1979. Presented with a professionally re-mastered original broadcast, background liners and rare archival photos.

© AIR CUTS 2016
Manufactured under license from ODL
Digitally Remastered

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (text): 5 292317 801813
  • Matrix / Runout: CA ACCD8018 @@ 7/19/2016 3:51:02 PM 0001190518
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LY88
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 1262
  • Rights Society: mcps