Metallica ‎– Bay Area Thrashers The Early Days

Ranch Life ‎– CRANCH 1
CD, Album, Unofficial Release


1 Hit The Lights 3:57
2 Seek And Destroy 4:58
3 Motorbreath 3:16
4 Phantom Lord 3:36
5 The Mechanix 4:29
6 Jump In The Fire 3:47
7 Metal Militia 5:10

Companies, etc.



℗ 1998
No Life 'Til Leather with fake audience noise, with clips of an early live show.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 036436 000128
  • Barcode (String): 5036436000128
  • Matrix / Runout: CRANCH1 CD Systems UK 14631
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 5005
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 5015

Other Versions (5 of 14) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
OTR 1100060 Metallica Bay Area Thrashers - The Early Days(CD, Unofficial) Outlaw Records (London) OTR 1100060 UK 1997 Sell This Version
001 Metallica Metallica: Demo(Cass, S/Sided, Unofficial) Not On Label (Metallica) 001 USA & Canada Unknown Sell This Version
FUEL507 CD Metallica The Bay Area Early Days(CD, Unofficial) Fuel Records (3) FUEL507 CD Italy 2005 Sell This Version
OTR 1100032 Metallica Bay Area Thrashers(2xCD, Unofficial) Outlaw Records (London) OTR 1100032 UK 1996 Sell This Version
CPD014 Metallica Bay Area Thrashers(LP, Ltd, Pic, Unofficial) Not On Label (Metallica) CPD014 Italy 2000 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



February 8, 2018

Well now... what to make of this...

I don't usually take heed of anything prefaced with the word "apparently"... but apparently, this is the original 'No Life Til' Leather' demo, but with added crowd noises and reverb to make it sound like a live recording.

Why? Why not.

The liner notes (riddled with typos) explains how these are the earliest known Metallica recordings, preceding the release of the bands legendary demo. This might seem like reliable information, if it wasn't for the badly written, second-hand information that really exposes this for the cheap and tacky product that it is.

Still, whether there's any merit to the claims or not, these are still early, and incredibly raw, Metallica recordings, and if you're into that sort of thing, then this could be a nice little (bootleg) addition to your collection.

It's got Dave Mustaine on guitar and Ron McGovney on bass, for all those super purists out there that can't get enough of those raw, old-school garage days, but ultimately this is nothing more than a cheap, barely audible, knock-off version of Metallica's debut album, 'Kill 'em All'. Stick with that instead.


March 28, 2015

The audio quality and last-minute overdubbing makes me want to nudge Mr.Mystery's bus full of kids off the cliff. Buy only if you're a dedicated bootleg collector or completist.