Metallica ‎– Ride The Lightning

Elektra ‎– 9 60396-2, Elektra ‎– 60396-2
CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Fight Fire With Fire 4:44
2 Ride The Lightning 6:36
3 For Whom The Bell Tolls 5:10
4 Fade To Black 6:56
5 Trapped Under Ice 4:03
6 Escape 4:23
7 Creeping Death 6:36
8 The Call Of Ktulu
Bass [Lead Bass] – Cliff Burton

Companies, etc.



Originally released in 1984.

On the back sleeve it says: 345 North Maple Drive, Beverly Hills, CA 90210.

WEA Mfg. Olyphant reissue; circa 2001 glass master.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 075596039628
  • Barcode (Text): 0 7559-60396-2 8
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): wea mfg. OLYPHANT (Logotype) Z01570 2 60396-2 RE-2 01 M1S3
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1): ifpi L909
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 2U4V
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): wea mfg.OLYPHANT (Logotype) Z01570 M3S10 2 60396-2 RE-2 01
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI L909
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 2U7O

Other Versions (5 of 338) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
MRI 769 Metallica Ride The Lightning(LP, Album) Megaforce Records MRI 769 US 1984 Sell This Version
T-169 Metallica Ride The Lightning(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Tango Music T-169 Poland Unknown Sell This Version
838 140-2 Metallica Ride The Lightning(CD, Album, RE, Unofficial) Vertigo (3), Phonogram (2) 838 140-2 Russia Unknown Sell This Version
none Metallica Ride The Lightning(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Not On Label (Metallica) none Bulgaria Unknown Sell This Version
BLCKND004R-1 Metallica Ride The Lightning(LP, Album, RE, RM) Blackened Recordings BLCKND004R-1 US 2016 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



March 30, 2006
edited over 11 years ago

Die and let die! Focused on the borderline experiences of a man in war (on whatever or whoever) the songs on this classic flashlight each person's fight against his very own world of darkest and strongest fears. Mostly based on a plot of absurdness and inequity of life lyrics like on 'Fade To Black' have become poetry of universal truth even without the music itself.

Gratefully this is an music album here so Metallica heads on towards the black abyss of agony and finds best acoustic impressions for it. Simply a bunch of blueprints. I know each single note of any of the guitar solos for years and go mad on them time and again. In all aspects of rhythm and sound drummer Lars Ulrich has grown mature after his stormy debut on Kill 'em all and along the way invented the essential double-bassdrum. James Hetfield is the evangelist of apocalypse while screaming in echoes that get shrapnelled by those prodigal 140 bpm rhythm patterns. There never came a more powerful album from Metallica again. Ride carefully!