Metallica With Michael Kamen Conducting The San Francisco Symphony Orchestra ‎– Nothing Else Matters

Vertigo ‎– 562 572-2
CD, Single, Enhanced, Slimcase

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Nothing Else Matters
Written-By – Hetfield*, Ulrich*
2 For Whom The Bell Tolls
Written-By – Burton*, Hetfield*, Ulrich*
3 - Human
Written-By – Hetfield*, Ulrich*
Video Nothing Else Matters (Video)
Film Director [Directed By] – Wayne IshamWritten-By – Hetfield*, Ulrich*

Companies, etc.



Recorded live at the Berkeley Community Theater in Berkeley, California, on April 21-22, 1999

Track 1: Original version available on Metallica
Track 2: Original version available on Ride The Lightning
Track 3: Previously unreleased
Songs 1-3 taken from the album S&M
Track 4 taken from the S&M VHS and DVD

℗ 1999 Metallica, © 1999 Metallica. The copyright in this sound recording is owned by Metallica under license to Universal Music B.V. A Universal Music Company.
Made in the EU.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 731456257228
  • Barcode (Text): 7 31456 25722 8
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): 07314 562 572-2 01 + MADE IN GERMANY BY UNIVERSAL M & L
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI L002
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 0115
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): 07314 562 572-2 01 + MADE IN GERMANY BY UNIVERSAL M & L C
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI L002
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 0119
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3): 07314 562 572-2 01 + MADE IN GERMANY BY UNIVERSAL M & L D
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI L002
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 0114
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 4): 07314 562 572-2 01 + MADE IN GERMANY BY UNIVERSAL M & L YE
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI L002
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 01CH
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 5): 07314 562 572-2 01 + MADE IN GERMANY BY UNIVERSAL M & L G
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 5): IFPI L002
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 5): IFPI 0125
  • Rights Society: BIEM MCPS
  • Label Code: LC 01633
  • Price Code: PY940



Add Review



August 15, 2018

In an age where CD singles are extinct (or at the very least, nothing more than collectibles for die-hard fans), ‘Nothing Else Matters’ serves as nothing more than a three-song sample of Metallica’s 1999 album, ‘S&M’.

‘S&M’, a live album which saw the metal legends collaborating with Michael Kamen and the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, is an outstanding release, and holds up well to this day for its fantastic performances and sound. It’s well worth checking out, and mostly makes this CD single redundant.

But with that said, ‘Nothing Else Matters’ and ‘For Whom the Bell Tolls’ are done incredibly, with the orchestra perfectly adding to the metal classics, without being either underwhelming or overbearing. And ‘-Human’ (pronounced “Minus Human”), a new song exclusive to the album, is a great addition, and is a nice little extra for this CD, and shows that even in 1999, amidst their alternative rock lunacy, that Metallica could still out heavy most bands on the planet.

While this is redundant today, especially to fans who already own the S&M album, it’s still a nice collectible for anyone that has to own everything that Metallica has ever put out.