Metamatics ‎– From Death To Passwords Where You're A Paper Aeroplane

Hydrogen Dukebox ‎– Duke98cd
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Here To Go
Performer [Original Sound Manipulation] – Kim G Hansen*Voice – Marie Louise Munchen*
2 What The Birds Overheard
Lyrics By [Poem] – Graham SeftonRead By – Krystian Lubiszewski
3 Byeway (Clan) 6:37
4 Rapala Shad 4:51
5 Colmic Zeus 6:50
6 Pollen Piano
Other [Inspiration], Performer [Tonal Usage] – Kamal Joory
7 Machine Wool 6:17
8 Remip Ear 2:09
9 Giant Sunflowers 6:18
10 Vaxhug 2:35
11 A New End 5:49
12 Inart 2:32

Companies, etc.



All tracks published by Hydrogen Jukebox / Reverb Music 2001.
℗&© Hydrogen Jukebox Records Limited 2001.

Recorded at the cottage in Devon.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 95984 10982 4
  • Matrix / Runout: DUKE 98CDP
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L042
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI JL09


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



February 3, 2005
edited over 13 years ago

FROM DEATH TO PASSWORDS WHERE YOU’RE A PAPER AEROPLANE seems Metamatics embracing a new tonal texture: vocals. And they work tremendously well with his general aesthetic: the soaring female singing on “Here to Go” or the spoken word poetry of “What the Birds Overheard.” There also seems to be this movement towards Boards of Canada-like bucolic IDM; “Byeway (Clan)” shows this influence clearly. But Metamatics’ love of funk and electro still shines through: “Colmic Zeus” bubbles and tweets with the best of them; “Machine Wool” puts you through a spin in the sonic washing machine. Without a doubt, “Giant Sunflowers” is the standout here – a haunting, piercing melody underlaid with a complex, textured rhythm – but other tracks hit the spot, as well: the cool, hollow tones of “Vaxhug” or the drifting grace of “A New End.” Strangely, the album doesn’t end with that track, but maybe it should, as “Inart” felt unnecessary. Not this album, though.


July 10, 2003

i agree, at first i preferred the track titles to the tracks but eventually that track hit me. not an amazing record but 3 or 4 tracks are mind blowingly good

January 3, 2003
I wasn't too impressed but once "Giant Sunflowers" hit... ah -- very deep! Purchase this release just for this track alone; amazing.