Michael Jackson ‎– Thriller

Epic ‎– EPC 85930
Vinyl, LP, Album, Gatefold

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'
Arranged By [Horn] – Jerry HeyArranged By [Rhythm] – Michael Jackson, Quincy JonesArranged By [Vocal] – Michael JacksonBacking Vocals – Becky Lopez, Bunny Hull, James Ingram, Julia Waters, Maxine Waters, Oren WatersBass – Louis JohnsonCo-producer, Arranged By [Horn], Backing Vocals, Other [Bathroom Stomp Board] – Michael JacksonElectric Piano [Rhodes], Synthesizer – Greg PhillinganesFlute – Larry WilliamsGuitar – David Williams (4)Other [Bathroom Stomp Board] – Nelson Hayes, Steven RayPercussion – Paulinho Da CostaSaxophone – Larry WilliamsSynthesizer – Bill Wolfer, Michael BoddickerTrombone – Bill Reichenbach (2)Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Gary Grant, Jerry HeyWritten-By – M. Jackson*
A2 Baby Be Mine
Arranged By [Horn] – Jerry HeyArranged By [Vocal, Rhythm, And String] – Rod TempertonDrums – Ndugu Chancler*Flute – Larry WilliamsGuitar – David Williams (4)Keyboards – Greg PhillinganesProgrammed By – Anthony Marinelli, Brian Banks, Steve PorcaroSaxophone – Larry WilliamsSynthesizer – David Paich, Greg Phillinganes, Michael BoddickerTrombone – Bill Reichenbach (2)Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Gary Grant, Jerry HeyWritten-By – R. Temperton*
A3 The Girl Is Mine
Arranged By [Rhythm] – Quincy JonesArranged By [Rhythm], Piano – David PaichArranged By [Strings], Conductor [Strings] – Jerry HeyArranged By [Synthesizer], Synthesizer – David FosterArranged By [Vocal] – Michael Jackson, Quincy JonesBass – Louis JohnsonConcertmaster – Jerry Vinci*Drums – Jeff PorcaroElectric Piano [Rhodes] – Greg PhillinganesFeaturing – Paul McCartneyGuitar – Dean Parks, Steve LukatherProgrammed By – Steve PorcaroWritten-By – M. Jackson*
A4 Thriller
Arranged By [Horn] – Jerry HeyArranged By [Vocal, Rhythm, And String], Synthesizer – Rod TempertonEffects – Bruce Cannon, Bruce SwedienFlute – Larry WilliamsGuitar – David Williams (4)Programmed By – Anthony MarinelliRap – Vincent Price (2)Saxophone – Larry WilliamsSynthesizer – Brian Banks, Greg PhillinganesTrombone – Bill Reichenbach (2)Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Gary Grant, Jerry HeyWritten-By – R. Temperton*
B1 Beat It
Arranged By [Rhythm] – Michael Jackson, Quincy JonesArranged By [Vocal] – Michael JacksonCo-producer, Other [Drum Case Beater] – Michael JacksonDrums – Jeff PorcaroElectric Bass – Steve LukatherElectric Piano [Rhodes], Synthesizer – Greg PhillinganesGuitar – Paul Jackson*, Steve LukatherGuitar [Solo] – Eddie Van HalenKeyboards – Bill WolferProgrammed By – Steve PorcaroRecorded By [Guitar Solo] – Don Landee*Synth [Synclavier] – Tom BahlerSynth [Synergy] – Greg SmithSynthesizer – Steve PorcaroWritten-By – M. Jackson*
B2 Billie Jean
Arranged By [Rhythm], Arranged By [Vocal] – Michael JacksonArranged By [Strings] – Jerry HeyBass – Louis JohnsonCo-producer – Michael JacksonComputer [Emulator] – Michael BoddickerConductor [Strings] – Jeremy LubbockDrums – Ndugu Chancler*Electric Piano [Rhodes], Synthesizer – Greg PhillinganesGuitar – Dean ParksSynthesizer – Greg SmithSynthesizer, Programmed By [Synthesizer] – Bill WolferWritten-By – M. Jackson*
B3 Human Nature
Arranged By – David Paich, Steve LukatherArranged By, Synthesizer – Steve PorcaroComputer [Emulator] – Michael BoddickerDrums – Jeff PorcaroGuitar – Steve LukatherPercussion – Paulinho Da CostaProgrammed By – Steve PorcaroSynthesizer – David PaichWritten-By – J. Bettis*, S. Porcaro*
B4 P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing)
Arranged By – Quincy JonesArranged By, Keyboards [Portasound], Handclaps, Backing Vocals [Additional] – James IngramBacking Vocals [Additional] – Howard HewettBacking Vocals [P.Y.T.'s] – Becky Lopez, Bunny Hull, Janet Jackson, LaToya Jackson*Computer [Emulator] – Michael BoddickerDrums – Ndugu Chancler*Electric Bass, Handclaps – Louis JohnsonGuitar – Paul Jackson*Handclaps – Michael Jackson, Steven RayHandclaps, Programmed By [Synthesizer] – Greg PhillinganesSynthesizer – Greg PhillinganesVocoder – Michael BoddickerWritten-By – J. Ingram*, Q. Jones*
B5 The Lady In My Life
Arranged By – Rod TempertonBass – Louis JohnsonComputer [Emulator] – Michael BoddickerDrums – Jeff PorcaroElectric Piano [Rhodes] – Greg PhillinganesGuitar – Paul Jackson*Synthesizer – David PaichWritten-By – R. Temperton*

Companies, etc.



Blue labels with yellow "Epic" logo, CB 281 & 58 (circled) on back sleeve.
This version differs from Thriller as there are no 'Epic" credits at 6 o'clock on labels.

Includes a one sided color insert with promo information about Michael Jackson's and The Jacksons' previous albums released on Epic.

Back sleeve: "Made in Holland"
Rim text on labels: "Made in England"

Management: Weisner/DeMann Entertainment and Joe Jackson.

Recorded and mixed using the Acusonic Recording Proces
Additional Sound Sources Recorded at Ocean Way Recording Studios, Los Angeles, CA
Paul McCartney appears courtesy of EMI Records

Published by:
A1, A3, B1, B2: Copyright Control
A2, A4, B5: Rondor Music (Ldn.) Ltd. / Rodsongs
B3: Warner Bros. Music Ltd. / Porcara Music
B4: Carlin Music Corp. / Eisman Music / Hen-Al Music / Kings Road Music

Gatefold sleeve with b/w lyric inner sleeve.

℗ 1982 CBS Inc./© 1982 CBS Inc./EPIC & EPIC (Logo) are Trademarks of CBS Inc./
Made In Holland/Distribué en France par CBS Disques

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: none
  • Label Code: LC 0199
  • Rights Society: MCPS/BIEM
  • Other (Rear Sleeve): CB 281
  • Other (Rear Sleeve): (58)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout etched): EPC 85930 A1 timtom
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout stamped): 2 E
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout etched): EPC 85930 B1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout stamped): 1 O O

Other Versions (5 of 414) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
QE 38112 Michael Jackson Thriller(LP, Album, Pit) Epic QE 38112 US 1982 Sell This Version
82876 84898 2 Michael Jackson Thriller(CD, Album, RE, RM, S/Edition) Epic 82876 84898 2 Russia Unknown Sell This Version
EK 66073 Michael Jackson Thriller(CD, Album, RM, S/Edition, Gol) Epic EK 66073 US 2009 Sell This Version
EK 38112 Michael Jackson Thriller(CD, Album) Epic EK 38112 US 1985 Sell This Version
EPC 85930 Michael Jackson Thriller(LP, Album) Epic, Suzy EPC 85930 Yugoslavia 1983 Sell This Version