Michael Sembello ‎– Bossa Nova Hotel

Warner Bros. Records ‎– 9 23920-1, Warner Bros. Records ‎– 1-23920
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Automatic Man
Backing Vocals – John SembelloBacking Vocals, Guitar [Solo], Synthesizer [Synthesized Bass] – Michael SembelloBacking Vocals, Piano, Synthesizer, Synthesizer [Synthesized Bass], Written-by – Danny SembelloDrums, Drums [Simmons] – Carlos VegaSynthesizer [Additional] – Chris Page (2)Written-By – David Batteau
A2 First Time
Bass, Guitar – Michael SembelloDrums [Simmons] – Carlos VegaKeyboards, Written-By – Don FreemanWritten-By – David Batteau
A3 Cowboy
Banjo – Larry McNeelyDrums – Vinnie ColaiutaEffects [Sound] – Chris Page (2), George JohnsenKeyboards, Piano [Tack], Synthesizer [Synthesized Bass], Written-by – Danny SembelloWritten-By – David Batteau
A4 It's Over
Acoustic Guitar, Marimba [Solo], Synthesizer – Michael SembelloArranged By [Strings], Strings [Conducted By] – Oscar Castro Neves*Drums – Vinnie ColaiutaPercussion – Paulinho Da CostaSynthesizer, Synthesizer [Synthesized Bass] – Danny SembelloWritten-By – Alfred Rubalcava
A5 Maniac
Cello – Dennis KarmazynDrums [Simmons] – Carlos VegaGuitar [Solo], Producer, Synthesizer [Synthesized Bass] – Michael SembelloKeyboards, Synthesizer, Written-By – Dennis Matkosky
B1 Godzilla
Arranged By [Horns], Drums [Linn], Guitar [Solo] – Michael SembelloArranged By [Horns], Effects [Sound] – Chris Page (2)Horns – William Reichenbach*, Gary Grant, Gary Herbig, Jerry HeyKeyboards, Marimba, Synthesizer [Synthesized Bass], Written-by – Danny SembelloPercussion – Paulinho Da CostaSynthesizer [Solo] – George DukeWritten-By – Phil Ramone
B2 Talk
Arranged By [Strings], Strings [Conducted By] – Oscar Castro Neves*Drums – Vinnie ColaiutaKeyboards, Written-By – Danny SembelloPercussion – Paulinho Da CostaVocals [Duet] – Cruz Baca Sembello*, Michael Sembello
B3 Cadillac
Backing Vocals – Cruz Baca Sembello*Backing Vocals, Guitar, Synthesizer [Solo] – Michael SembelloBass – Nathan WattsDrums – Carlos VegaPiano, Synthesizer, Synthesizer [Synthesized Bass] – Danny Sembello
B4 Lay Back
Arranged By [Strings], Strings [Conducted By] – Oscar Castro Neves*Backing Vocals – Cruz Baca Sembello*, Michael SembelloBass – Nathan WattsDrums – Vinnie ColaiutaKeyboards – Danny SembelloPercussion – Paulinho Da Costa
B5 Superman
Arranged By [Strings], Bass, Drums [Linn], Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Vocals [Drone] – Michael SembelloArranged By [Strings], Effects [Sound], Strings [Conducted By] – Chris Page (2)Effects [Sound] – Phil RamoneVocals [Drone] – Cruz Baca Sembello*, John Sembello, Leza Miller*



Recorded at Bossa Nova Hotel, Rumbo Recorders, Soundcastle, Westlake Studios, EFX Studios
Mixed at Soundcastle, Capitol Studios and Lion Share Recording Studio

This album is dedicated to Cruz, whose love and unselfishness carried me much faster to my goal

Released with a printed inner lyrics-sleeve

Spine: 9 23920-1
Label: 1-23920

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1, Runout): 1-23920-A-SH3 #2 ℗ -SH3 -------◄ SLM SLM △ 5180 1-3
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2, Runout): 1-23920-B-SH3 #2 Q -SH3 -------◄ SLM △ 5180-X 1-3
  • Barcode (Text): 0 7599-23920-1
  • Barcode (Scanned): 075992392013
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other Versions (5 of 29) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
92 3920-1 Michael Sembello Bossa Nova Hotel(LP, Album) Warner Bros. Records 92 3920-1 Italy 1983 Sell This Version
92-39204 Michael Sembello Bossa Nova Hotel(Cass, Album, Dol) Warner Bros. Records 92-39204 Canada 1983 Sell This Version
P-11402 Michael Sembello Bossa Nova Hotel(LP, Album) Warner Bros. Records P-11402 Japan 1983 Sell This Version
92-3920-1 Michael Sembello Bossa Nova Hotel(LP, Album) Warner Bros. Records 92-3920-1 Scandinavia 1983 Sell This Version
WARNER-3013 Michael Sembello Bossa Nova Hotel(LP, Album) Warner Bros. Records WARNER-3013 Venezuela 1983 Sell This Version