Midge Ure ‎– Little Orphans

Environment Records (2) ‎– envcd 002
CD, Album, Mono

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Get A Life
Written-By – M. Karn*, M. Ure*, R. Barbieri*, S. Jansen*
2 What Would You Do?
Written-By – M. Ure*
3 Celtic Rising
Written-By – M. Ure*
4 Love You Gave
Written-By – M. Ure*
5 Cry
Written-By – M. Karn*, M. Ure*, R. Barbieri*, S. Jansen*
6 Feel So Good
Bass [Fretless] – Steve BrzezickiWritten-By – G. Giltrap*, M. Ure*
7 Trying Now
Written-By – M. Ure*
8 Heart
Written-By – C. Taylor*, M. Ure*
9 Crash
Written-By – M. Ure*
10 All For Love
Organ [Hammond] – Josh PhillipsWritten-By – M. Ure*
11 Your Religion
Performer – Josh Phillips, Mark Brzezicki, Steve BrzezickiWritten-By – M. Ure*
12 What's Out There?
Written-By – M. Ure*
13 Personal Heaven
Bass – Steve BrzezickiWritten-By – G. Gregory*, M. Ure*

Companies, etc.



© 2001 The copyright in this live recording is owned by Environment Records.

"Sometimes I write things with no specific home in mind. No pre-destined album. No particular reason for recording them other than the fact that I could. There are ideas, songs, instrumentals, atmospheres, drum rhythms etc that have never been given an outlet until now. This is their home. No longer ...... Little Orphans!

1. Get A Life. At one point I dabbled with the idea of forming a band with the nucleus of the band 'Japan'. We recorded a couple of things but didn't take it any further. Maybe we should have!
2. Skin. Experimenting with sensual, sexy, repetitive atmospheres.
3. Celtic Rising. If William Wallace ever comes back from the dead to make 'Braveheart 2' (in true Hollywood style) this should be the theme tune!
4. Love You Gave To Me. A Midge Ure 'Big Band' idea. Loads of guitars and brass.
5. Cry. Another track from the 'Japan' boys. This is a copy of a copy of a rough mix. If you listen out you can hear the mic kick in just before the vocal starts.
6. Feel So Good. Gordon Giltrap came to me with a piece of music asking if I could write a melody and lyrics for it. This is the result. Steve Brzezicki plays fretless bass.
7. Trying Now. A song idea about taking important things for granted and feeling sorry for yourself, then focusing on something to make you try again.
8. Heart. This was written with the classic songwriter Chip Taylor about a heart and a head arguing about a potential new relationship. We wanted to write something for Roy Orbison ... but he was dead, so I sang it myself.
9. Crash. Playing around with technology and embracing my studio once again I wrote a few pieces of filmic music. This is the first of the bunch.
10. All For Love. I was asked to write something for the legendary Rev. Al Green. This is what came out. Josh Philips plays hammond organ.
11. Your Religion. I had this song lying around when having some time on their hands, Mark Brzezicki, Steve Brzezicki and Josh Phillips said we should get together, redord it and see what turned out.
12. What's Out There? This is something I put together whilst trying out some new studio recording equipment. The best way to try it is to write and record it!
13. Personal Heaven. My big, old friend Glenn Gregory and I wrote this as a duetb but never got round to doing anything with it. A version of this appears on the 'Dear God' CD by Ryoichi Yuki. Steve Brzezicki plays bass.

Jewel Case with 8 page booklet.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: ENVCD002 01 6
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L136
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 04F6



Add Review



January 2, 2019
Kind of odd not a stereo CD. Wish there were stereo versions of these songs.