Miles Davis ‎– Porgy And Bess

Columbia ‎– CS 8085
Vinyl, LP, Album, Repress, Stereo, CBS


A1 The Buzzard Song
A2 Bess, You Is My Woman Now
A3 Gone
A4 Gone, Gone, Gone
A5 Summertime
A6 Bess, Oh Where's My Bess
B1 Prayer (Oh Doctor Jesus)
B2 Fishermen, Strawberry And Devil Crab
B3 My Man's Gone Now
B4 It Ain't Necessarily So
B5 Here Come De Honey Man
B6 I Loves You, Porgy
B7 There's A Boat That's Leaving Soon For New York

Companies, etc.



Recorded 7/22/1958, 7/29/1958, 8/04/1958, and 8/18/1958 at the Columbia 30th Street Studio in New York City.

Early stereo LP version.
"6-eye" record label variation with "CBS" in the center of the red & white double arrow at the top.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Center-label): XSM 44663
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Center-label): XSM 44664
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Runout): XSM44663-2AJ
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Runout): XSM44664-2BA

Other Versions (5 of 107) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CS 8085 Miles Davis Porgy And Bess(LP, Album) Columbia CS 8085 US 1958 Sell This Version
CBS 32188, CBS 62108 Miles Davis Porgy And Bess(LP, Album, RE) CBS, CBS CBS 32188, CBS 62108 Europe Unknown Sell This Version
BPG 62108 Miles Davis Porgy And Bess(LP, Album, Mono, RE) CBS BPG 62108 UK Unknown Sell This Version
CL 1274 Miles Davis Porgy And Bess(LP, Album, Mono) Columbia CL 1274 US Unknown Sell This Version
CBS 450985 1 Miles Davis Porgy And Bess(LP, Album, RE, RM) CBS, Suzy CBS 450985 1 Yugoslavia 1988 Sell This Version