Mingus* ‎– Oh Yeah

Atlantic ‎– 1377, Atlantic ‎– SD 1377
Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Stereo


A1 Hog Callin' Blues 7:26
A2 Devil Woman 9:38
A3 Wham Bam Thank You Ma'am 4:41
B1 Ecclusiastics 6:55
B2 Oh Lord Don't Let Them Drop That Atomic Bomb On Me 5:38
B3 Eat That Chicken 4:36
B4 Passions Of A Man 4:52



Cover with red STEREO stamp on front cover. Blue/Green label. 1966 copyright on back cover. Inner sleeve with last records in sequence 1461 and 5125 (both 1966 releases).

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (label and runout): ST-A-61379-A
  • Matrix / Runout (label and runout): ST-A-61380-A
  • Matrix / Runout: AT

Other Versions (5 of 48) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
1377 Charles Mingus Oh Yeah(LP, Album, Mono) Atlantic 1377 US 1962 Sell This Version
P-4544A, 1377 Mingus* Oh Yeah(LP, Album, RE) Atlantic, Atlantic P-4544A, 1377 Japan 1976 Sell This Version
7 90667-4 Mingus* Oh Yeah(Cass, Album, RE) Atlantic 7 90667-4 US 1987 Sell This Version
332051 Charles Mingus Oh Yeah(LP, Album, Mono) Atlantic 332051 France 1962 Sell This Version
WPCR-27156 Mingus* Oh Yeah(CD, Album, Ltd, RE, RM) Atlantic WPCR-27156 Japan 2012 Sell This Version



Add Review

January 9, 2008
This is a very great bop'n album from the master mingus. The opening track, hog callin' blues, has a lot of punch and features hints of the classic track ii bs. There's vocal yells and it sounds like they're having an all around good time jamming away. Devil woman slows things down with a very modal sound but later picks up with booker ervin given off some great soul blasts. This track goes up and down and hints at the blues side as well. A topper on this release for sure. Next we get right back in the fast lane with wham bam thank you maam, which sounds like a statment track and contains elements that reminded me of a foggy day. This crew is trying to tell a story with thier instruments and it's very effective here.

The next side starts off things with another soulful sounding gem, ecclusiastics, featuring some random vocals spazzed in here and there for good measure, including oh yeah!. Love it. The piano from Mingus on this track, yes mingus doesn't touch his bass on this album, is just awesome. Rival's the other greats on the piano as far as the history of jazz goes. Oh lord don't let them drop that atomic bomb on me slows things down with a fairly humorous take. Not my favorite track on here as it has that southern baptist church flavour to it, a bit to much for my tastes. Thankfully another humorous track comes next with, eat that chicken. A fast paced track that I'd love to have seen played live. I can just see the band smiling, or maybe laughing, while playing this one. This album ends with a very odd experimental type track called the passions of a man. Again, it's a track I think that is trying to tell a story. I think a few people might be put off by this but this kind of jazz was very new at the time and I simply love it as a closing track. Kinda sums up of the era as well I think.

Overall this is not my favorite mingus album and by far not the one that stands out in his discography but I simply love it as one of his best non-bass albums. All this pressed on 180 gram vinyl too for this reissue version. What more could a jazz fan want?