Ministry ‎– Filth Pig

Warner Bros. Records ‎– 9362-45838-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Reload 2:24
2 Filth Pig 6:19
3 Lava 6:30
4 Crumbs 4:14
5 Useless 5:55
6 Dead Guy 5:15
7 Game Show 7:45
8 The Fall 4:54
9 Lay Lady Lay
Songwriter – Bob Dylan
10 Brick Windows 5:23

Companies, etc.



- Spurburn Warner Tamerlane Publishing Corp BMI
- "Lay Lady Lay" Big Sky Music ASCAP

Mastered at Future Disc Systems.

© 1996 ℗ 1995, 1996 Warner Bros. Records Inc. for the U.S. and WEA International Inc. for the world outside the U.S.

Made in Germany by Warner Music Manufacturing Europe.

Incidental info:
Released in a standard jewel case with a fold out booklet.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (As printed): 0 9362-45838-2 0
  • Barcode (Scanned, UPC A): 093624583820
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6): 936245838-2 WME
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6): IFPI L011
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 05A4
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 0502
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 0511
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 0621
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 5): IFPI 0506
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 6): IFPI 060 B
  • Rights Society: GEMA/BIEM
  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Label Code: LC 0392
  • Other (Distribution code): WE 833

Other Versions (5 of 38) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
9 45838-2 Ministry Filth Pig(CD, Album) Warner Bros. Records 9 45838-2 US 1996 Sell This Version
936245838-2, 9362458382 Ministry Filth Pig(CD, Album) Warner Bros. Records, Warner Bros. Records 936245838-2, 9362458382 Australia 1996 Sell This Version
9362-45838-4, WE 491 Ministry Filth Pig(Cass, Album) Warner Music Poland, Warner Music Poland 9362-45838-4, WE 491 Poland 1996 Sell This Version
45838 Ministry Filth Pig(Cass, Promo) Warner Bros. Records 45838 US 1995 Sell This Version
PROP82, 9362-45838-2 Ministry Filth Pig(CD, Album, Promo) Warner Bros. Records, Warner Bros. Records PROP82, 9362-45838-2 Germany 1996 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



April 7, 2012
Indeed, a truly underrated record, nearly a masterpiece in my opinion - but I must confess that it took me a couple years to eventually get into it, even though I had been a fan of the band since the late eighties.


June 6, 2008

Am I the only one who actually likes "Filth Pig"? I remember when it was released back in 1996: any magazine or fanzine said it was a disappointment, a bad album, the beginning of the end of Ministry. Anyone was expecting something faster and more violent than "Psalm 69", but no one understood that the only possible answer was to slow down and explore dark, gloomy atmospheres. Honestly, how could you possibly go faster than "Psalm 69"?
Apart from the initial dissonant chaos of "Reload", an appropriate title for a track which sounds like a heating exercise, both "Filth Pig" and, especially "Lava", are original and intriguing swamps of doom/sludge sounds, slow hypnotical rhythms and strange tunes sounding like country music played by undead cowboys in the middle of Mexican ghost town.
"The Fall" is exciting, the album's best song and, imo, one of Ministry's best, apocalyptic, desperate and even melodic, with deformed piano chords swinging on a background of heavy machinery noise rhythms and Jourgensen's epic singing. Bob Dylan's "Lay Lady Lay" is turned into an interesting noise rock ride, possibly one of the band's most "commercial" exploits, while final "Brick Windows" is another very good piece of work.
The four central tracks, from "Crumbs" to "Game Show" are, indeed, weak and rather uninteresting, you can skip theme without regrets.
On the whole, "Filth Pig" is surely not a masterpiece, but it's still a very good album in Ministry's discography, featuring some great examples of their courage to change and experiment with their sound on each release.
Maybe now that they have disbanded someone will start rediscovering it.