MoShang ‎– Suncake Lounge Vol. 1

Onse Plate ‎– ONSE105


1 MoShang Into the Soft Underbelly 7:40
2 MoShang Things She Found in Gift Shops 6:24
3 MoShang Crime, Cruelty, Soft Music 6:37
4 MoShang The Spiritual Equivalent of Oxygen 7:58


Liner Notes

Chris Bailey and I first met in 2005 when we performed together at the Taichung Jazz Festival – the ensemble was called Rhythm Clowns and with the exception of the local drummer, we were all foreigners living in Taiwan. It was a rather last minute affair, and I believe we had a single afternoon rehearsal before the show in the evening. It was such a whirlwind experience that Chris and I never really got to know each other. If we had, this album might have happened a lot sooner.

I guess we let time slip. Almost three years later in May of 2008, Chris and I were invited to play together at the opening of Mojo Retro, a coffee-shop and live music venue near the Taichung Art Museum. After our mutual surprise to learn that the other was still around and had been here all this time, we fell into easy conversation and happily we were able to continue that free exchange in our playing.

We took a conscious decision not to censor ourselves on this album, but rather to play off each other, to borrow from each other’s vocabulary, to let the notes fall where they may, and hopefully to share the pleasure we derive from this simple act of communicating.

Since we owe a debt of gratitude to the city that brought us together and that we now call home, Suncake Lounge derives its name from the pastry associated with Taichung. As the “vol.1” in the title implies, Chris and I intend to continue the conversation in future editions, and to invite in the musical points of view of friends in Taiwan and abroad.

MoShang • Taichung, March 2009

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 884502090697