Moby ‎– Songs (1993-1998)

Elektra ‎– 62554-2
CD, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 First Cool Hive 5:16
2 Go
Written-By – A. Badalamenti*, D. Lynch*
3 Into The Blue
Written-By, Vocals – Mimi Goese
4 Now I Let It Go
Engineer – Alan MoulderViolin – Hahn Rowe
5 Move (You Make Me Feel So Good)
Engineer – Curt FrascaVocals – Carole Sylvan, Rozz Morehead
6 I Like To Score 2:21
7 Anthem 3:27
8 Hymn 3:17
9 Feeling So Real
Vocals – Kochie Banton, Myim Rose, Nicole Zaray
10 God Moving Over The Face Of The Waters (Heat Mix) 5:45
11 Alone 10:47
12 Novio 2:38
13 The Rain Falls And The Sky Shudders 6:16
14 When It's Cold I'd Like To Die
Written-By, Vocals – Mimi Goese
15 Living
Engineer – Alan Moulder
16 Grace 5:24

Companies, etc.


  • Artwork, Photography ByP. Hegarty*
  • EngineerMoby (tracks: 1 to 4, 6 to 16)
  • Written-By, Producer, Programmed By, Recorded By, Mixed By, PerformerMoby


A compilation from different albums '93-'98.

Tracks 5 and 13 are taken from Move.
Tracks 1, 3, 7, 8, 9, and 14 are taken from Everything Is Wrong.
Tracks 4, 11, and 15 are taken from Animal Rights.
Tracks 2, 6, 10, 12, and 16 are taken from I Like To Score.

Track 10 is just listed as "God Moving Over The Face Of The Waters".

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (text): 0 7559-62554-2 4
  • Barcode (scanned): 075596255424
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): wea mfg. OLYPHANT Y12921 2 62554-2 01 M1S6
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1): ifpi L903
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 2U6B
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): wea mfg. OLYPHANT Y12921 2 62554-2 01 M1S8
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2): ifpi L903
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 2U8F

Other Versions (5 of 16) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
E2 62554 Moby Songs (1993-1998)(CD, Comp, Club) Elektra, Columbia House E2 62554 Canada 2000 Sell This Version
Elektra 625542 4 Moby Songs (1993-1998)(CD, Comp) Elektra Elektra 625542 4 Mexico 2000 Sell This Version
EKCD 6301 Moby Songs (1993-1998)(CD, Comp) Elektra EKCD 6301 South Africa 2000 Sell This Version
R2296060 Moby Songs (1993-1998)(CD, Comp, RE) Elektra R2296060 US 2007 Sell This Version
7559-62554-2 Moby Songs (1993-1998)(CD, Comp, Sli) Elektra 7559-62554-2 Taiwan 2000 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



November 14, 2009
edited over 9 years ago

After Moby's US contract with Instinct Records had ended and he had signed with Elektra, they released a handful of albums made up of unreleased and hard to find tracks. So after Moby had changed labels again to get his records released in the USA by V2, Elektra went down the same road and made this CD to cash in on the international success Moby's album "Play" was getting.

This time though, we get no unreleased or rare material, just a bunch of tracks from the albums Moby had released on Elektra, "Move", "Everything Is Wrong", "I Like To Score" and the US version of "Animal Rights", which had been very different from the European release.

So nothing for fans, but this CD might be a good start for newcomers to get a feel of the diversity and talent Moby had in those years. From ecstatic dance to ambient and quiet acoustic pieces, this CD features every style of music Moby had laid his hands on during the 90s (except his punk rock excursions, but that's fine for me).

Be warned though: The version of "Go" featured here is not the well-known "Woodtick Mix", but a faster, techno version that had been featured on "I Like To Score".


September 18, 2001
edited over 17 years ago

I bought this for "Go" and "Feeling So Real" and ended liking quite a few of the other tracks too. Styles from from arranged instrumentals to all out rasta-DJ-sampling techno.