Monks* ‎– ...Let's Start A Beat!

Munster Records ‎– MR CD 207, Play Loud! Productions ‎– none
CD, Album, Enhanced


1 Monk Time 3:25
2 Oh How To Do Now 4:27
3 We Do Wie Du 2:59
4 Boys Are Boys 1:46
5 Pretty Suzanne 5:01
6 Hushie Pushie 2:43
7 Cuckoo 3:27
8 Complication 3:03
9 That's My Girl 4:10
10 Shut Up 3:45
11 I Can't Get Over You 2:37
12 Higgle-Dy Piggle-Dy 3:20
13 Blast Off! 3:31
14 I Hate You 6:01
15 Monk Jam 6:02
16 An Inspirational Message 1:44
Video The Monks - Live At Cavestomp! 99 11:01

Companies, etc.



The record was recorded live at Cavestomp! in November 1999, when The Monks performed in the original line-up for the first time in 32 years.
The singer, Gary Burger, had severe problems with his vocal cords, so most of the vocals actually came (uncredited on the record) from friend Mike Fornatale.

The individual tracks are not presented in a steady flow on this CD for some reason.

It was licenced by Cavestomp! Records and previously released in the US on CD with some additional tracks.
Munster Records also released an LP version of the record.

The CD contains a quicktime trailer to the documentary film Monks - The Transatlantic Feedback including Complication, Cuckoo and Shut Up live at Cavestomp!

Track 2 is mistakenly credited here "Oh How To Do Now" instead of "Oh, How To Do Now".
Tracks 5 and 12 not credited on the sleeve
Tracks 13 and 14 are encores and not credited on the sleeve.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 8435008820725
  • Matrix / Runout: CD POOL MUSIC DPCD-1328
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LD51

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



July 29, 2011
I was quite surprised with a remarkably low production quality of this CD. To be honest, I'm even thinking thay I buy a counterfeit copy, because it's extremely cheaply made. I can't believe the official release can be so poorly made. Actually, many bootlegs and counterfeit records have far more superior quality of manufacture comparing to this.

If someone own a physical copy of this release, maybe you can confirm some details to me - spin-out of the CD reads "CD POOL MUSIC DPCD-1328" and "IFPI LD51", booklet have 10 pages in it, on 1 staple only, so they are not holding so well, photos inside are very small and pretty much pixelated, also the cover photo itself is not actually high-resolution, if you look closely.

Or do I really have a counterfeit copy? The only think which is comforting me is the fact that on the Munster Records site CD costs twice as cheap as other Monks albums, so they're at least honest with a price tag, because anything more than 5 euros would be a rip-off.

The critical error with CD-mapping is just plain hilarious - actually, you physically can't listen to this CD on a stereo-system and enjoy it, because those annoying 2-sec silence pauses after the end of each song are killing all the buzz. So you would need to rip this to a computer, manually remove the silence in any audio editor, burn it back on CD-R in a gapless mode and finally enjoy it. That's laughable!

So, to anyone I would NOT recommend purchasing this album, by any means try to pick a different version, which is probably better. Only if you're a really hardcore fan and need every single version of all and everything, you go ahead. Or if you have a very-very good bargain price.