Monolake ‎– Interstate

CD, Album


1 Untitled 0:22
2 Abundance 10:09
3 Gecko 2:05
4 Untitled 5:21
5 Tangent I 8:04
6 Tangent II 9:27
7 Perpetuum 6:47
8 Amazon 5:51
9 Untitled 5:06
10 Ginza 5:04
11 Terminal 6:11

Companies, etc.



© Monolake / Imbalance Computer Music [ML/I] 1999.

Track times on sleeve (untitled tracks are not listed):
2 Abundance (10:09)
3 Gecko (07:27) -> combined time with untitled track 4
5 Tangent I (08:05)
6 Tangent II (09:28)
7 Perpetuum (06:48)
8 Amazon (10:09) -> combined time with untitled track 9, which probably was meant to be 10:59
10 Ginza (05:04)
11 Terminal (06:11)

A remastered & re-packed reissue was released on June 2007, with the 3 untitled tracks merged into tracks with an existing name.

There's a typo on the CD label side: "monlake" instead of "monolake".

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 18751 09512 0
  • Barcode (Scanned): 718751095120
  • Barcode (Printed on CD label side and inside of booklet): 7 1875 10951-2 0
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1, 2, 4): [DADC logo] A0100267451-0101 13 A0
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3, 5): [DADC logo] A0100267451-0101 43 A2
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1, 2, 3, 4, 5): IFPI L553
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 94Y5
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 94Y7
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 94C5
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 94C2
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 5): IFPI 9473

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ml 001 Monolake Interstate(CD, Album, RE, RM, Dig) Monolake / Imbalance Computer Music ml 001 Germany 2007 Sell This Version
ml001 Monolake Interstate(8xFile, FLAC, Album, RE) Monolake / Imbalance Computer Music ml001 Germany Unknown
ml001 Monolake Interstate(8xFile, MP3, Album, RE, 320) Monolake / Imbalance Computer Music ml001 Germany Unknown


Reviews Show All 5 Reviews

Add Review



March 31, 2016
edited over 2 years ago
This is not passive listening music and Perpetuum is like brain surgery while you're awake.


December 30, 2009

xenlab is right, but does little to describe this, one of monolakes masterworks, so another review is warrented. monolake is one of the best and most creative artists to come out of the chain reaction camp, which is saying alot, since most of the artists on that seminal imprint went on to release some incredible music (vladislav delay, fluxion, porter ricks, etc). interstate will always have a special place for me, and likely many others as well, as it truly sounds like nothing else out there. still, to this day, this is an album that stands alone, without any peer. deeply aquatic, like sitting on a skiff in the middle of the swamp, listening to crickets, midges and birds flit about, every track on the record evokes heavy atmosphere, and flows seemlesly into the next. the album is anchored by a strong dub backbone, but this is highly original dub, mainly due to each track being so rhythmically engaging, unorthodox, and complex. stereo is used to great affect throughout, and each sound is carefully crafted. it's like an alien landscape at times, so luch, and so beautiful. it's the kind of record that can sit alongside top albums by the black dog, aphex twin, the orb and model 500, not because it necessarily sounds like any of those records, but because it is so endearingly orignal that it will stand the test of time as a classic without parallel. although highly rhythmic, i do think of this as "ambient" for its atmosphere, and one of the best electronic albums released in past 20 years. if you have not already, do yourself a favour and consume immediatly!


July 2, 2003
monolake blends minimal glitch with warm dub-like synths to create pulsing soundscapes that are at once captivating and danceable. Their 'Cinemascope' release realizes this more fully then this freshman release. Good things are sure to come from these guys. Stay Tuned.