Mos Def ‎– Black On Both Sides

Rawkus ‎– P2-50141, Rawkus ‎– 04992 50141 29
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Fear Not Of Man
Bass, Congas, Percussion, Producer – Mos DefKeyboards – Weldon Irvine
2 Hip Hop
Bass, Co-producer, Keyboards – Mos DefProducer – Diamond*Recorded By, Mixed By – David KennedyScratches – Etch-A-Sketch*Written-By [Uncredited] – David Axelrod, Gabriel Jackson, Joseph Kirkland, Michael T. Axelrod
3 Love
Producer – 88-KeysRecorded By, Mixed By – David KennedyWritten-By [Uncredited] – Charles M. Njapa
4 Ms. Fat Booty
Producer – AyatollahRecorded By, Mixed By – David KennedyWritten-By [Uncredited] – Charles Singleton, Eddie Snyder, Lamont Dorrell
5 Speed Law
Producer – 88-KeysRecorded By, Mixed By – David KennedyWritten-By [Uncredited] – Charles M. Njapa
6 Do It Now
Featuring – Busta RhymesMixed By – David KennedyProducer – Mr. KhaliylRecorded By – Johnny WhyWritten-By [Uncredited] – Acklins Dillon, Trevor Smith (4)
7 Got
Producer – Ali Shaheed MuhammadWritten-By [Uncredited] – Ali Shaheed Muhammad
8 Umi Says
Organ [Hammond] – Weldon IrvinePiano [Fender Rhodes] – Will I AmProducer – David Kennedy, Mos Def
9 New World Water
Producer – Psycho LesWritten-By [Uncredited] – Lester Fernandez
10 Rock 'n' Roll
Bass, Co-producer, Drums, Written-By [Outro] – Mos DefGuitar – Johnny WhyProducer – Psycho LesWritten-By [Uncredited] – Lester Fernandez
11 Know That
Featuring, Written-By [Uncredited] – Talib KweliProducer – AyatollahWritten-By [Uncredited] – Lamont Dorrell
12 Climb
Arranged By [Strings], Co-producer – Mos DefArranged By [Strings], Written-By [Uncredited] – Weldon IrvineCo-producer, Written-By [Strings] – Weldon IrvineFeaturing – Vinia MojicaProducer – Etch-A-Sketch*Written By [Uncredited] – T. Dunn
13 Brooklyn
Producer [1st Move] – GE-OLOGYProducer [2nd Move] – David Kennedy, Mos DefProducer [3rd Move] – Mos DefWritten By [Uncredited] – Gerard YoungWritten-By [Uncredited] – David Kennedy
14 Habitat
Producer – Etch-A-Sketch*Recorded By, Mixed By – David KennedyWritten-By [Keyboards], Arranged By [Keyboards] – Weldon Irvine
15 Mr. Nigga
Co-producer, Congas, Percussion – Mos DefFeaturing – Q-TipProducer – D-Prosper*Written-By [Uncredited] – D. Prosper
16 Mathematics
Producer – DJ PremierWritten-By [Uncredited] – Chris Martin (6), David Gates
17 May - December
Bass, Producer, Vibraphone – Mos DefPiano, Written-By [Uncredited] – Weldon IrvineProducer – 88-KeysWritten-By [Uncredited] – Charles M. Njapa

Companies, etc.



Track #2 contains a sample from "The Warnings" by David Axelrod.
Track #4 contains a sample from "one Step" by Aretha Franklin.
Track #13 contains a sample from "We Live In Brooklyn, Baby" by Roy Ayers. It also contains a sample from " The Masquerade Is Over" by David Porter. It also contains re-played elements of "Under The Bridge" by The Red Hot Chilli Peppers.

℗©1999 Rawkus Records.

Printed in the U.S.A.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 49925 01412 9
  • Barcode (String): 049925014129
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): 049925014129 Mastered By EMI MFG
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): 049925014129 1-1-16 Mastered By EMI MFG
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1, 2): IFPI L043
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): ifpi 1685
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): ifpi 1684

Other Versions (5 of 23) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
P2-50141, 04992 50141 29 Mos Def Black On Both Sides(CD, Album) Rawkus, Rawkus P2-50141, 04992 50141 29 US 1999 Sell This Version
MOSBLACK004 Mos Def Black On Both Sides(2xLP, Ltd, RE, Unofficial, cle) Rawkus (2) MOSBLACK004 US 2013 Sell This Version
P2-50142 Mos Def Black On Both Sides(CD, Album, Edi) Rawkus P2-50142 US 1999 Sell This Version
UICY-6094 Mos Def Black On Both Sides(CD, Album, RE) Rawkus UICY-6094 Japan 2006 Sell This Version
RWK 233 P Mos Def Black On Both Sides (Sampler EP)(12") Rawkus RWK 233 P US 2000 Sell This Version



Add Review



April 3, 2017
edited about 1 year ago
Above and beyond.. this is still my favorite Hip Hop album. No other album in Hip Hop has had the same effect on me over the years, and I've been coming back to this repeatedly since i first heard it in 2001. The crap people consider to be good Hip Hop today is a far cry from the quality of this record. Completely unmatched. Mos at his best, is better than anyone in the "game" and it's not even close. New World Water is even more relevant today than it was back when this was released.