Mount Eerie ‎– Sauna

P.W. Elverum & Sun, Ltd. ‎– ELV036
2 × Vinyl, 12", 45 RPM, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Sauna 10:00
A2 Turmoil 1:50
A3 Dragon 3:15
B1 Emptiness
Lyrics By [Poem Referred To] – Lao TzuTranslated By [Trans.] – Ursula K. Le Guin*
B2 (Something) 2:17
B3 Boat 2:14
B4 Planets 1:24
B5 Pumpkin 5:12
C Spring
Lyrics By [Poems Referred To] – Adrian Orange, DōgenTranslated By – Steven Heine
D1 Books 3:30
D2 This
Flute – Evin OppLyrics By [Poem Referred To] – DōgenTranslated By – Steven Heine
D3 Youth 5:27

Companies, etc.



Recorded between June 27th, 2013 and August 13th, 2014 at the UNKNOWN in Anacortes, Wash., U.S.A.
Vinyl pressing by "Gotta Groove"
Jackets printed by Stoughton

Inspiration for some ideas came from many places. For Track A1 and for the whole record, a debt is owed to the comic book by Amanda Vähämäki called "Äitienpäiva" (Hunda Hunda 2008) and also the song by Es called "Aavehuminaa (Katjallle)" (Fonal 2004)

These poems were referred to:
"The Uses of Not" by Lao Tzu (excerpt) from "Tao Te Ching" (Ursula K. Le Guin, trans.)
From "A Flower's Is Mine" by Adrian Orange from Adrian Orange & Her Band (K)
Track C, "Zazen" by Dōgen; Tracks C and D2, "Death Verse" by Dōgen (1200-1253) both from "The Zen Poetry of Dōgen" by Steven Heine

Gatefold cover, includes poster and download card

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): ELF-036-A GOLDEN
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): ELV-036-B GOLDEN
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C): ELV-036-C GOLDEN
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D): ELV-036-D GOLDEN

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ELV036 Mount Eerie Sauna(12xFile, FLAC, Album) P.W. Elverum & Sun, Ltd. ELV036 US 2015
Epcd084 Mount Eerie Sauna(CD, Album) 7 e.p. Epcd084 Japan 2015 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



February 4, 2015
Anyone know when this is likely to hit shelves in Europe? No pre-order links as yet.