Mount Kimbie ‎– Crooks & Lovers

Hotflush Recordings ‎– HFLP004
2 × Vinyl, 12", Album, 33 ⅓ RPM, 45 RPM


A1 Tunnelvision 1:48
A2 Would Know 3:16
A3 Before I Move Off 4:10
B1 Blind Night Errand 3:21
B2 Adriatic 1:26
B3 Carbonated 4:18
C1 Ruby 4:03
C2 Ode To Bear 4:00
C3 Field 3:04
D1 Mayor 4:01
D2 Between Time 1:54

Companies, etc.



℗ and © Hotflush Recordings Ltd 2010

Sides A, B, C: 33 ⅓ RPM
Side D: 45 RPM

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 055317 207548
  • Barcode (Scanned): 5055317207548
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, etched): HFLP004-A' Sam-Precise Mastering
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, stamped): 87088 1A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, etched): HFLP004-B' Sam-Precise Mastering
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, stamped): 87088 1B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C runout, etched): HFLP004-C' Sam-Precise Mastering
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C runout, stamped): 87088 1C
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D runout, etched): HFLP004-D' Sam-Precise Mastering
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D runout, stamped): 87088 1D

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
HFLP004 Mount Kimbie Crooks & Lovers(2x12", Album, W/Lbl) Hotflush Recordings HFLP004 UK 2010 Sell This Version
HFCD004 Mount Kimbie Crooks & Lovers(11xFile, MP3, Album, 320) Hotflush Recordings HFCD004 UK 2010
HFCD004 Mount Kimbie Crooks & Lovers(CD, Album) Hotflush Recordings HFCD004 UK 2010 Sell This Version
none Mount Kimbie Crooks & Lovers(CDr, Album, Promo) Hotflush Recordings none UK 2010 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 9 Reviews

Add Review



January 31, 2017
my needle skips also over the first track is it an edition error?


January 26, 2016
curious question; does anyone know who or what the 'Bear' in 'Ode to Bear' refers to? Is it a reference to Owsley Stanley?

since its release, Crooks & Lovers has been one of my favourite LPs. I remember vividly the first time I heard it (thanks, Moony). It was a breath of fresh air.


April 14, 2012
I got this album about a month ago, and have the same problem.
Interesting you've got the same problem as well.


November 6, 2011
my needle skips all over the first track. anyone else ahve this problem?


August 29, 2010
This is a great album that really shows the development of sound in this group. The mending of lo-fi guitar and vocal elements coupled with crunchy drum beats and bass make a very dynamic and aurally pleasing experience. The album starts out with "Tunnelvision", a garage-esque beat coupled with sliced acoustic guitar and vocal samples, next up is "Would Know", this track has a lot more dubstep influence than the previous and uses more electronic sounds. Then we have "Before I Move Off", this track starts off very gloomy and out of tune but develops into a deep two stepper that's almost indicative of Burial's style. "Blind Night Errand" is a garage track with heavy elements of electroclash, with a very calming outro into "Adriatic", Adriatic is a very calming track led completely by acoustic guitar and 2 vocal samples. It's simple but calming. "Carobonated" starts out as a disco track, almost acid-like. But develops into a garage track with sliced vocals and looming pads that'll entrance you. "Ruby" is your standard chilled out dubstep track. "Ode To Bear" is my favourite track on this album, it has elements of accordion and simple reverberated effects at the beginning, as it develops it becomes quite a complex and very emotional soundscape, this track will capture you. "Field" is a very guitar driven track with a simple dubstep beat in the back, coupled with vocal samples it's a nice track to keep you uplifted towards the end of this album. "Mayor", this track is one of the fastest pace out of all the tracks, it is almost entirely synth based unlike the rest of the album. "Between Time" is the final track and it sounds it. This track looms on with the only purcussion being a snare. The rest of the track is simply bass plucking. This album is definitely one of my favourites and I encourage listening to it start to finish while under the influence.


July 23, 2010
edited over 6 years ago

not necessarily a huge achievement, but a pleasant album nevertheless. Wish it wasn't 2 lp's though, its hardly over 35 minutes..