Muddy Waters ‎– The Chess Box

MCA Records ‎– CH6 - 80002, Chess ‎– CH6 - 80002
6 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Gypsy Woman
A2 Good Looking Woman
A3 Mean Disposition
A4 I Can't Be Satisfied
A5 I Feel Like Going Home
A6 Train Fare Home Blues
B1 Mean Red Spider
B2 Streamline Woman
B3 Little Geneva
B4 Rollin' And Tumblin', Part 1
B5 Rolling Stone
B6 Walkin' Blues
C1 Louisiana Blues
Washboard – Elgin Evans
C2 Evans Shuffle
C3 Long Distance Call
C4 Honey Bee
C5 She Moves Me
C6 Still A Fool
D1 Stuff You Gotta Watch
Vocals – Jimmy Rogers, Little Walter
D2 Standing Around Crying
D3 Flood
D4 Baby Please Don't Go
D5 Blow Wind Blow
Harmonica – Walter "Shakey" Horton*
D6 Hoochie Coochie Man
E1 I Just Want To Make Love To You
E2 I'm Ready
E3 Smokestack Lightnin'
E4 Young Fashioned Ways
E5 Mannish Boy
E6 Trouble No More
F1 Forty Days And Forty Nights
F2 Just To Be With You
F3 Don't Go No Farther
F4 Diamonds At Your Feet
F5 I Love The Life I Live, I Live The Life I Love
F6 Rock Me
G1 Look What You Done
G2 Got My Mojo Working
G3 Good News
Tenor Saxophone – Marcus Johnson (2)
G4 Evil
G5 She's Nineteen Years Old
G6 Close To You
G7 Walkin' Thru The Park
H1 Blues Before Sunrise
H2 Lonesome Road Blues
H3 Take The Bitter With The Sweet
H4 She's Into Something
H5 Southbound Train
H5 Double Trouble
J1 I Feel So Good
J2 You Shook Me
J3 You Need Love
J4 Twenty Four Hours
J5 Elevate Me Mama
J6 So Glad I'm Living
K1 My Love Strikes Like Lightning
K2 You Don't Have To Go
K3 Things That I Used To Do
K4 My Home Is In The Delta
K5 Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
K6 The Same Thing
L1 You Can't Lose What You Ain't Never Had
L2 Short Dress Woman
Clarinet – J.T. Brown
L3 Making Friends
Producer – Ralph Bass
L4 Black Night
L5 Bird Nest On The Ground
L6 Country Boy
Bass – Sonny WimberlyDrums – S. P. Leary*
M1 Sugar Sweet
Bass – Donald "Duck" DunnDrums – Sammy Lay*Guitar – Michael Bloomfield*Harmonica – Paul ButterfieldProducer – Norman DayronRhythm Guitar – Paul Asbell
M2 All Aboard
Bass – Phil UpchurchDrums – Sammy Lay*Guitar – Michael Bloomfield*Harmonica [Chromatic] – Jeff CarpProducer – Norman Dayron
M3 Going Down Slow
Harmonica – Paul OscherProducer – Ralph Bass
M4 Who's Gonna Be Your Sweet Man When I'm Gone
Bass – Rik Grech*Drums – Mitch MitchellGuitar – Rory GallagherHarmonica – Carey Bell HarringtonKeyboards – Georgie FortuneProducer – Esmond Edward*, Ian Green (2)
M5 Can't Get No Grindin' (What's The Matter With The Meal)
Producer – Ralph Bass


Other Versions (5 of 5) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CHD3-80002, CHD-80002A, CHD-80002B, CDD-80002C Muddy Waters The Chess Box(3xCD, Comp + Box, Comp) Chess, MCA Records, Chess, Chess, Chess CHD3-80002, CHD-80002A, CHD-80002B, CDD-80002C US Unknown Sell This Version
CHD3-80002 Muddy Waters The Chess Box(3xCD, Comp) Chess, MCA Records CHD3-80002 US 1989 Sell This Version
CHC6-80002 Muddy Waters The Chess Box(3xCass, Comp) MCA Records, Chess CHC6-80002 US 1989 Sell This Version
CHD3-80002 Muddy Waters The Chess Box(3xCD, Comp, RP) Chess CHD3-80002 US 1998 Sell This Version
668002 Muddy Waters The Chess Box(3xCD, Comp) Chess, Vogue 668002 France 1990 Sell This Version



Add Review



January 30, 2014

McKinley Morganfield was born in Mississippi in 1913. He was given the name of Muddy Waters by his grandmother at an early age.

Muddy Waters was one of the Blues musicians who was deftly able to make the transition from the cotton field, delta, acoustic blues, to the electric sound which has remained with us since. He not only made the transition, but set an example for others.

LP one and two of the box set covers the period 1947-1954. LP three and four covers the hits of the 1950's, many of which inspired English rockers who were preparing to hit the shores. And LP five and six covers the latter period from 1960 through 1972. Not covered are the very early years of Muddy's singing, as covered by The Complete Plantation Recordings. And the Blue Sky recordings (I'm Ready; Hard Again; King Bee) of the 1980's cover the latter part of his career. This box set covers the meaty, main portion of his career and are definitely the set to get if you are going to get just one for your collection. The book that comes with this 6 LP set also gives a very nice overview of Muddy's life and career, something that the mp3 downloads cannot do.

Muddy Waters was one of the most influential blues singers of all time and influenced generations of singers who came after him. If you plan on getting only one collection of Muddy Waters, I would strongly recommend this 6 LP beautiful set.