Murk ‎– The Singles Collection (The Deep South Sound Of The Underground)

TRIBAL America ‎– 7243 8 27191 20
CD, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Intruder U Got Me 5:28
2 Interceptor Together (Original Dub Version) 6:41
3 Liberty City Some Lovin' (MURK Mix) 6:42
4 Funky Green Dogs From Outer Space* Reach For Me (MURK Mix) 7:21
5 Coral Way Chiefs Release Myself 6:07
6 Deep South Believe 7:02
7 Bobby Pruit Tried So Hard (Special Vocal Mix) 6:39
8 Interceptor Together (Unreleased Vocal Mix) 5:53
9 Liberty City If You Really Want Someone
Engineer [Assistant] – Leo Herrera
10 Funky Green Dogs From Outer Space* Reach For Me (Nu NRG Mix)
Engineer – Doug DeAngelis, Steve NeatKeyboards, Programmed By – Peter DaouProducer [Additional Production], Remix, Programmed By – Danny Tenaglia
11 Liberty City Some Lovin' (Fierce Ruling Dub)
Engineer – Phil Pagano, Steve Barkan*Keyboards, Programmed By – Peter DaouProducer [Additional Production], Remix, Programmed By – Danny Tenaglia

Companies, etc.



All songs written, produced and mixed for Murk Productions.

Published by Murk Publishing / IRS Songs (ASCAP).

Recorded at HN Studios, Miami, FL. Except for track 9 recorded at South Beach Studios, Miami, FL.

Photos for Blindspot Photographic, Miami, FL.

Package design for Compression Studios, Brooklyn, NY.

Mastering and assembly at Audio Mechanics, Los Angeles, CA.

Released via Tribal America. This compilation ℗&© 1993 IRS Records. Manufactured by IRS Records.

Title appears as "The Singles Collection - The Deep South Sound of the Underground" on the front cover only. The title appears as "The Singles Collection" on both spines and the disc itself.

Inlay in early printings includes a questionnaire, offering you a free CD, "…not available in stores!
To get your free CD fill out the other side of this card and send in with $3.00 for postage and handling.
Quantities are limited so don't snooze and miss out. Offer expires 3/31/94."

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 2438-27191-2 0
  • Barcode (Scanned): 724382719120
  • Matrix / Runout: 27191-2 MO L3A02B
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped Mirrored Outer Ring): Y 1-1-1 EMI JAX
  • Rights Society: ASCAP



Add Review



October 14, 2003

Criminally this collection was only released in the USA (and is very hard to find in the UK). This disc represents the collected works of underground house gods Murk prior to the 1993 release date. Crucially, the CD is not mixed, allowing the tracks to succeed or fail on their own merits.

The quality of the early Murk output is immediately evident. Opening track 'U Got Me' is indeed worthy of the appelation classic, as are most of the tracks herein. Clubbers should recognise the now familiar Murk anthems - 'Some Lovin', 'If You Really Want Someone', 'Release Myself', 'Reach For Me'.

This CD has not aged. Murk still sound unique (kadoc sounds notwithstanding) and fresh in 2003. Thoroughly recommended to those who like their deep, funky house.