Murray Head ‎– Say It Ain't So

A&M Records ‎– SP-4558
Vinyl, LP, Album, Gatefold

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Say It Ain't So Joe
Acoustic Bass – Bruce LynchArranged By [Strings Arrangement] – Ann OdellCongas – Brother James (3)Drums – Glenn Lefleur*Percussion – Chilli Charles*Slide Guitar [Slide] – Bob Weston
A2 Boy On The Bridge
Drums – Simon PhillipsElectric Guitar [Electric Guitars] – Bob WestonElectric Piano [Wurlitzer] – Charles JankleRhythm Guitar – Mickey FinnSynthesizer [Arp String] – Ann Odell
A3 Boats Away
Backing Vocals – Alun Davies, Pam Keevil, Sue Lynch (2)Bass Guitar – Bruce LynchDrums – Gerry ConwayEnsemble [Steel Band] – The Tropic IslesTin Whistle – P. J. Crotty
A4 When I'm Yours
Double Bass [String Bass] – Arthur WattsMixed By – Mike BobakOrgan – Billy Day (2)
A5 Someone's Rocking My Dreamboat
Acoustic Bass – Brian BrocklehurstBacking Vocals – Pam KeevilClarinet – John AltmanElectric Guitar – Mickey FinnPiano – Tony KayeSlide Guitar – Bob WestonTrombone – Anthony HealeyTrumpet – Noel NorrisWritten-By – Emerson Scott*, Leon Rene, Otis Rene
B1 She's Such A Drag
Backing Vocals – Liza Strike, Vicky Brown*Drums – Simon PhillipsElectric Guitar [Electric Guitars] – Bob WestonElectric Guitar [Rhythm] – Mickey Finn
B2 Never Even Thought
Arranged By [Piano & Strings Arr.], Synthesizer [Arp String] – Ann OdellBass Guitar – Bruce LynchDrums – Gerry ConwayPercussion – Brother James (3), Chilli Charles*, Glenn Lefleur*
B3 Silence Is A Strong Reply
Drums [Log] – Maurice Pert*Mandolin – Graham PreskettSlide Guitar – Bob WestonWritten-By – Weston*
B4 Don't Forget Him Now
Backing Vocals – Sue Lynch (2), Vicky Brown*Electric Guitar – Bob WestonElectric Piano [Fender Rhodes Piano] – Murray HeadHarmonium – Anon*Rhythm Guitar – Mickey Finn
B5 You're So Tasty
Electric Guitar – Bob WestonElectric Piano [Fender Rhodes] – Brian Johnston*Rhythm Guitar – Mickey FinnVocals – Vicky Brown*

Companies, etc.



Released in a gatefold jacket, with lyrics and credits printed on the interior of the gatefold.

℗1976 A&M Records, Inc.
ER. Printed in Canada.

Produced for Silven productions Ltd.

Track B3 dedicated to Howard or 'H' wherever he may be.

On gatefold: All selections from the play "Atlantis" copyright © 1974 except B3 copyright © 1975 Keep On Trucking Ltd
Track A5 copyright © 1936 and 1937 Advanced Music Corp. Copyright renewed.

Recorded and mixed in Willesden.
Mastered in New York.

On label: Stereo.
All selections published by Keep On Trucking Ltd., except A5 published by Warner Bros. Music.

Pressed in Los Angeles.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1 label): 4853
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2 label): 4854
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1 runouts etched): SP-4558-SP-4853 G-T
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2 runouts etched): SP 4854 RE-1 P̶2̶ M3 #2 MR 420270-X canada STERLING
  • Rights Society (A5): ASCAP

Other Versions (5 of 43) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ILPS 9347 Murray Head Say It Ain't So(LP, Album) Island Records ILPS 9347 UK 1975 Sell This Version
CS-4558 Murray Head Say It Ain't So(Cass, Album, Bla) A&M Records CS-4558 Canada 1976 Sell This Version
CID 9347 Murray Head Say It Ain't So(CD, Album) Island Records CID 9347 UK Unknown Sell This Version
89432-5B Murray Head Say It Ain't So(LP) Island 89432-5B Spain 1975 Sell This Version
IMCD 83, 842 452-2, 842 452-2 Murray Head Say It Ain't So(CD, Album, RE) Island Records, Island Records, Spectrum Music (2) IMCD 83, 842 452-2, 842 452-2 UK 1994 Sell This Version