Muslimgauze ‎– Untitled

Klanggalerie ‎– gg14
CD, Album, Limited Edition


1 Untitled 1 1:25
2 Untitled 2 4:47
3 Untitled 3 5:59
4 Untitled 4 6:22
5 Untitled 5 0:18
6 Untitled 6 1:57
7 Untitled 7 4:35
8 Untitled 8 6:08
9 Untitled 9 8:32
10 Untitled 10 6:37
11 Untitled 11 0:57
12 Untitled 12 6:58
13 Untitled 13 5:56
14 Untitled 14 6:16
15 Untitled 15 4:00

Companies, etc.



Edition of 1,000 copies.
Includes a gatefold insert.

All tracks written by Bryn Jones 1993.
Mastered at Future Studios, Vienna, November 1999.
Thanks to Charles, Mark, Terry and Gert-Jan.

"Tracks 3 & 13 previously released on limited picture 7" by Syntactic, Austria (MUSLIM 15)"
Track 3 is a remix or re-interpretation of "Thugghee" from Nile Quartra (Jara, 1994).



Add Review



October 30, 2009

This is one of my favorite early 90's albums by Muslimgauze (however long it took to actually get released in full). The tracks function more as a whole; much like the album's artwork (which perfectly suits it in my opinion) the album is repitive, very grey and inorganic, that might in one instant seem dull but really pulls you into the synthesized moodiness.

It's really not very similar to the bulk of Muslimgauze music, as the music is not derived primarily from samples, definitely more electronic in nature. It isn't without any samples, however, as Bryn used a number of spoken pieces and other noises which texturize throughout (honestly though I wouldn't like this album nearly as much if it were not for the sampling).

Overall it is a nice album, with excellent flow that you can easily dive into, but on the surface it's a little bland, as nearly every track is very similar, and while Muslimgauze does have a number of trademark ideals in his music, this is one that feels just a little too repetitive in that respect. Most tracks really don't stray from electronic drum patterns, keyboards, and samples, and little variation among them; then again, that clearly was what he was going for, and considering the mood you're in that could be exactly what you want.

It really is best to take the entire album in as one performance; maybe the entire album should've been a single track, it would've have a clearer impact on me at least.