Mussorgsky* - George London (2), The Columbia Symphony Orchestra* & Chorus*, Thomas Schippers / The Philadelphia Orchestra, Eugene Ormandy ‎– Boris Godunov (Excerpts) / Pictures At An Exhibition

Sony Classical ‎– 82876-78747-2
CD, Compilation, Remastered


Scenes From Boris Godunov
Prologue, Scene 2 (The Square In The Moscow Kremlin)
1 Da Zdrávstvuyet Tsar Boris Feodorovich (Long Live Tsar Boris Fedorovich!) 1:53
2 Uzh Kak Na Nébe Sólntsu Krásnomu (Even As Glory To The Radiant Sun) 2:49
3 Skorbit Dushá! (My Soul Is Torn With Anguish) 3:17
4 Sláva! (Glory!) 1:28
Boris's Monologue From Act II
5 Dostig Ya Vïsshey Vlasti (I Have Attained The Highest Power) 6:01
Dialogue And Hallucination Scene From Act II
6 Ty Zachém (What Do You Want?) 1:02
7 Velkii Gosudár, Chelóm Byu (Mighty Lord...) 5:52
8 Ne Kázen Strashná, Strashná Tvoyá Nemilost (It Is Not Death That Is Hard To Bear...) 1:45
9 Uf Tyazheló! (God, How Stifling It's Become!) 3:45
Boris's Farewell To His Son And Death Of Boris From Act IV, Scene 2
10 Carevicha Skorej! (The Tsarevich, Quickly!) 6:33
11 Zvon!...Pogrebálnyi Zvon! (Listen! It's Ringing...The Funeral Bell Is Ringing!) 4:20
Pictures At An Exhibition
12 Promenade 1:33
13 Gnomus (The Gnome) 2:38
14 Promenade 0:55
15 Il Vecchio Castello (The Old Castle) 4:42
16 Promenade 0:32
17 Tuileries (Children's Dispute After Play) 1:01
18 Bydlo (Ox-cart) 2:16
19 Promenade 0:42
20 Ballet Des Petits Poussins Dans Leur Coques (Ballet Of The Unhatched Chickens) 1:14
21 Samuel Goldenburg And Schmuyle 2:21
22 Limoges: Le Marché (The Market Place Of Limoges) 1:26
23 Catacombae: Sepulchrum Romanum (Catacombs: A Roman TOmb) 1:41
24 Cum Mortis In Lingua Morta (With The Dead In A Dead Language) 1:43
25 La Cabane Baba-Yaga Sur Des Pattes De Poule (The Hut Of Bba-Yaga On Chickens' Legs) 3:44
26 La Grande Porte De Kiev (The Great Gate Of Kiev) 4:52

Companies, etc.



Tracks 1-11: Recorded at Manhattan Center, New York City, March 23-27, 1961.
Tracks 12-26: Recorded at Town Hall, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, April 21 & June 18, 1966.
Consists of previously released material.
Originally released 1961, 1968.
This recording was newly mastered from the original source using Sony's Direct Stream Digital (DSD) System and SBM Direct.
© 2006 Sony BMG Music Entertainment.
Made in USA.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: CTDP-145899 1
  • Mastering SID Code: LFPI L327
  • Barcode: 828767874722