Nas ‎– Illmatic

Columbia ‎– CK 57684
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 The Genesis
Producer [Conceived By] – Faith N.*, Nas
2 N.Y. State Of Mind
Engineer – Eddie SanchoProducer – DJ PremierWritten-By – C. Martin*, N. Jones*
3 Life’s A Bitch
Co-producer – NasEngineer – Jason VogelProducer – L.E.S.Trumpet – Olu DaraVocals [Featured Vocals] – A.Z.*Written-By – A. Cruz*, N. Jones*, O. Scott*, O. Dara*, R. Wilson*
4 The World Is Yours
Engineer – Jamey Staub*Producer – Pete RockWritten-By – N. Jones*, P. Phillips*
5 Halftime
Engineer – Kevin ReynoldsProducer – The Large Professor*Written-By – G. Byrd*, N. Jones*, W.P. Mitchell*
6 Memory Lane (Sittin’ In Da Park)
Engineer – Eddie SanchoEngineer [Assistant Engineer] – Luis TineoProducer – DJ PremierWritten-By – C. Martin*, N. Jones*, P. Barsella*, R. Wilson*
7 One Love
Engineer – T. Latham*Producer – Q-TipWritten-By – J. Heath*, J. Davis*, N. Jones*
8 One Time 4 Your Mind
Engineer – Kevin ReynoldsEngineer [Assistant Engineer] – Jack Herscha*Written-By – N. Jones*, W.P. Mitchell*
9 Represent
Engineer – Eddie SanchoEngineer [Assistant Engineer] – Luis TineoProducer – DJ PremierWritten-By – C. Martin*, N. Jones*
10 It Ain’t Hard To Tell
Engineer – Stan WallaceEngineer [Mix Engineer] – Diego GarridoEngineer [Tracking Engineer] – Anton “Sample This” Pushansky*Producer – The Large Professor*Written-By – N. Jones*, W.P. Mitchell*

Companies, etc.



Track 2: Gifted Pearl/Ill Will Music, Inc./Skematics Music (ASCAP)
Track 3: Ill Will Music, Inc./Skematics Music/Minder Music (USA) (ASCAP)/Taking Care Of Business Music/Total Experience Music Publishing Co. (BMI)
Track 4: Hit’N’Hold Music (ASCAP) Ill Will Music, Inc./Skematics Music/Pete Rock Publishing (ASCAP)
Track 5: Large Professor Music Ltd./EMI April Music Inc./Ill Will Music, Inc./Skematics Music/Minder Music (USA) (ASCAP)
Track 6: EMI Unart Catalog Inc./Ill Will Music, Inc./Skematics Music/Gifted Pearl (ASCAP)
Track 7: Ill Will Music, Inc./Skematics Music (ASCAP)/MJQ Music, Inc. (BMI)
Track 8, 10: Large Professor Music Ltd./EMI April Music Inc./Ill Will Music, Inc./Skematics Music (ASCAP)
Track 9: Ill Will Music, Inc./Skematics Music/DJ Premier Publishing/Gifted Pearl (ASCAP)

Track 2, 6, 9: Recorded and Mixed at D&D Recording, NYC
Track 3: Recorded and Mixed at Unique Studios and Chung King Studios, NYC
Track 4, 7: Recorded and Mixed at Battery Studios, NYC
Track 5, 8, 10: Recorded and Mixed at Chung King Studios, NYC
Track 10 Initial Tracking at PowerPlay Studios, Long Island City, NY

Track 2: contains sample from “Mind Rain” as performed and written by J. Chambers
Track 3: contains sample from “Yearning For Your Love” as performed by The Gap Band and written by R. Wilson and O. Scott used courtes of Polygram Special Products, Inc.
Track 4: “It’s Yours” performed by La Rock, courtesy of Warlock Records
Track 5: contains samples from “Dead End,” “Soul Travelin’” and “School Boy Crush
Track 6: contains sample “We’re In Love” as performed by Reuben Wilson and written by R. Wilson and P. Barsella
Track 7: contains sample from “Smilin’ Billy Suite Pt. II” as performed by The Heath Brothers and written by J. Heath
Track 8: contains sample from “Walter L” as written by G. Burton
Track 10: contains samples from “Human Nature” as performed by Michael Jackson and written by J. Bettis and J. Pocaro; and “N.T.” as performed by Kool & The Gang and written by G. Redd, Jr., R. Handy, C. Horne, R. Bell, R. Bell, R. Mickens, D. Thomas, G. Brown and C. Smith

© 1994 Sony Music Entertainment Inc./℗ 1994 Sony Music Entertainment Inc./Manufactured by Columbia Records/550 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10022-3211.

Pressed by DADC, Pitman

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed): 0 7464 - 57684 - 2 7
  • Barcode (String): 074645768427
  • Matrix / Runout: 1A CK57684 01 C1
  • Pressing Plant ID (Mirrored): CMU P 99
  • Pressing Plant ID (Variant 2): P 96
  • Pressing Plant ID (Variant 3): P8
  • Mastering SID Code: none
  • Mould SID Code: none

Other Versions (5 of 63) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
475959 1, COL 475959 1 Nas Illmatic(LP, Album) Columbia, Columbia 475959 1, COL 475959 1 Europe 1994 Sell This Version
SICP 4166~7 Nas Illmatic XX(CD, Album, RE + RM, Dig) Sony Records Int'l SICP 4166~7 Japan 2014 Sell This Version
GET 51297 LP, 88691975251 Nas Illmatic(LP, Album, RE) Get On Down, Columbia GET 51297 LP, 88691975251 US 2012 Sell This Version
88697439542 Nas Illmatic XX(CD, Album, RE, RM + CD, Comp, RE, RM + RE, RM, Dig) Columbia, Legacy, Sony Music 88697439542 Europe 2014 Sell This Version
SICP-1612 Nas Illmatic(CD, Album, RE) Sony Records Int'l SICP-1612 Japan 2007 Sell This Version



Add Review



June 30, 2019
When this album came out in 1994 I already had my favorite albums in HipHop as these were „Critical Beatdown“ by UMCs, „Criminal Minded“ by BDP and „Paid In Full“ by Eric B & Rakim. I liked Nas‘ NY State Of Mind very much, the rhymes are also very skilled. Overall an important album. What killed all this afterwards were „If I ruled the world“ and „Street Dreams“. Next to those hits by The Fugees that was a time where I nearly stepped away from HipHop. And thanks to DITC Crew, KRS, Wu, Redman, Show/AG I found hope in this music again... until these Trap / Trance-a-like bling boom things in the 2000s really got me signing one gets not younger, and the opinions of 20-somethings really don‘t mean a thing.