Nathan Haines ‎– Sound Travels

Chillifunk Records ‎– CFCD005
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Wonderful Thing
Bass – Miles DansoDrums – Daniel CrosbyPiano – Mike PattoSaxophone, Flute – Nathan HainesVocals – Vanessa FreemanWritten-By, Arranged By – Nathan Haines
2 Long...
Producer – Phil AsherSaxophone, Flute – Nathan HainesSynthesizer – Kaidi TathamVocals – Daniel VacchioWritten-By – Nathan Haines, Phil Asher
3 Surprising
Bass – Level Neville Malcom*Drums – Daniel CrosbyElectric Piano [Rhodes] – Kevin FieldGuitar – Chris FrankPiano, Synthesizer [Ob8] – Simon ColamProducer – Phil AsherSaxophone, Flute – Nathan HainesSynthesizer [Jupiter 8] – Kaidi TathamTrumpet, Flugelhorn – Scott BaileyVocals – Marcus Begg, Vanessa FreemanWritten-By – Nathan Haines, Phil Asher
4 Impossible Beauty
Bass – Miles DansoDrums – Daniel CrosbyPiano – Mark de Clive Lowe*Producer – Phil AsherSaxophone, Vocals – Nathan HainesWritten-By – Nathan Haines
5 Sound Travels
Saxophone, Flute – Nathan HainesSynthesizer, Strings – Kaidi TathamWritten-By – Kaidi Tatham, Nathan Haines, Phil Asher
6 Honeycomb
Bass – Level Neville Malcom*Drums – Daniel CrosbyGuitar – Chris FrankPiano, Synthesizer [Prophet 5] – Mike LindupProducer – Phil AsherSaxophone, Flute – Nathan HainesWritten-By – Nathan Haines, Phil Asher
7 The Illest Hobo
Bass – Level Neville Malcom*Organ, Keyboards – Mark de Clive Lowe*Percussion – Williams CumberbachePiano, Synthesizer – Mike PattoProducer – Phil AsherSaxophone, Flute – Nathan HainesWritten-By – Nathan Haines, Phil Asher
8 Earth Is The Place
Bass – Danny HuckridgeProducer – Phil AsherSynthesizer, Electric Piano [Rhodes] – Nathan HainesVocals – Verna FrancisWritten-By – Nathan Haines, Phil Asher
9 Williams Song
Percussion, Vocals – Williams CumberbacheProducer – Phil AsherWritten-By – Nathan Haines, Phil Asher, Williams Cumberbache
10 Believe
Bass – Danny HuckridgePercussion – Williams CumberbachePiano, Synthesizer [Prophet 5] – Mike PattoProducer – Phil AsherSaxophone, Flute, Electric Piano [Rhodes] – Nathan HainesVocals – Shelley NelsonWritten-By – Nathan Haines, Phil Asher


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5029684112521

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
WS-0023/0024, WS-0023, WS-0024 Nathan Haines Sound Travels(2xCD, Album) Wood Records (5), Wood Records (5), Wood Records (5) WS-0023/0024, WS-0023, WS-0024 Japan 2001 Sell This Version
CFLP 005 Nathan Haines Sound Travels(2xLP) Chillifunk Records CFLP 005 UK 2001 Sell This Version
D-huh 22 Nathan Haines Sound Travels(CD, Album) Huh Records, Chillifunk Records, Flying In D-huh 22 New Zealand 2000 Sell This Version
D-huh 22 Nathan Haines Sound Travels(2xCD, Ltd) Huh Records, Chillifunk Records D-huh 22 New Zealand 2001 Sell This Version



Add Review



June 3, 2004

Nathan Haines, longtime member of the Restless Soul posse, drops his solo debut, <I>Sound Travels</I>, and true to the lyrics of the track “Long…” -- it’s been a long time. Thoroughly infused with soul and bursting with energy, this album marks Haines as an electronic musician in his own right. His breaks are tight and complement the main themes of his music well. But Haines isn’t afraid to break out of those strictures, either: “Impossible Beauty” is a late-night jazz torch song that sounds like it came straight from the 1920s, while “Honeycomb” is a Latin-tinged dub track. Obviously, the standout track is the sublime “Earth is the Place,” with its enchanting vocals and solid groove, but “Believe” comes a close second runner-up with its uplifting message. A beautiful album all around, so pack your bags!