The National ‎– High Violet

4AD ‎– CAD 3X03CD
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Terrible Love 4:39
2 Sorrow 3:25
3 Anyone's Ghost 2:54
4 Little Faith 4:36
5 Afraid Of Everyone
Flute, Flute [Bass] – Alex SoppHarmonium, Vocals, Arranged By [Backing Vocals] – Sufjan StevensTrumpet – Kyle ResnickViola – Nadia SirotaVocals – Laurel Sprengelmeyer
6 Bloodbuzz Ohio 4:35
7 Lemonworld 3:23
8 Runaway 5:33
9 Conversation 16
Bassoon – Rachael ElliottCelesta [Celeste] – Nico MuhlyCello – Maria JeffersClarinet, Bass Clarinet – Hideaki AomoriDouble Bass – Greg ChudzikDouble Bass, Electric Guitar, Piano, Vocals, Arranged By [Backing Vocals] – Richard Reed ParryElectronics, Other [Filtering] – Mads Christian BrauerFrench Horn – Michael Atkinson (4)Harp – Bridget KibbeyPercussion – Thom Kozumplik*Piano, Keyboards – Thomas BartlettSaxophone [Baritone] – Alex HamlinTrombone – Benjamin Lanz*, Dave Nelson*, Tim AlbrightTrumpet, Cornet [Coronet] – CJ Camereri*Violin – Rob MooseViolin, Viola – Padma NewsomeVocals – Marla Hansen
10 England 5:40
11 Vanderlyle Crybaby Geeks 4:12

Companies, etc.



℗&© 2010 4ADLtd. The copyright in this recording is owned by 4AD Records Ltd. Made in the U.S.A.

Recorded March 2009-January 2010 in Aaron's garage (Brooklyn, NY).
Additional recording at Tarquin Studios (Bridgeport, CT) and Kampo Studios (NYC). Additional vocal recording at Berlin.
Mastered at Sterling Sound (NYC).

Released in a 3-panel cardboard sleeve.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (String): 652637300321
  • Barcode (Text): 6 52637 30032 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): CAD3X03CD/J552401
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): CAD3X03CD [Arvato Digital Services Logo] +A01+ J552401
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3): CAD3X03CD [Arvato Digital Services Logo] + + J552401
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2, 3): IFPI LB41
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2, 3): IFPI 10J3
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Label Code: LC 05807

Other Versions (5 of 30) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CAD 3X03CDJ The National High Violet(CD, Album, Promo) 4AD CAD 3X03CDJ Japan 2011 Sell This Version
none The National High Violet (Expanded Edition)(19xFile, AAC, Album, 256) 4AD none 2010
none The National High Violet(CDr, Album, Num, Promo, Wat) 4AD none UK 2010 Sell This Version
CAD 3X03CD The National High Violet(CD, Album, Promo) 4AD CAD 3X03CD US 2010 Sell This Version
CAD 3X03CD The National High Violet(CD, Album) 4AD CAD 3X03CD Australia & New Zealand 2010 Sell This Version



Add Review



August 13, 2012
edited over 6 years ago
the high water mark for this band so far, with a thematic unity among the songs that earlier records like boxer and alligator only hinted at. and the darkness and drama is only maturing, with singles in high violet's wake such as 'think you can wait' and 'you were a kindness.' the only blight here is 'lemonworld' which wrecks the flow of the album, and i'm surprised that with such deep intelligence these guys couldn't or refused to see that. probably the best record of 2010 and hopefully the beginning in a radiohead-like series of musical achievements for a band that truly deserves all accolades.