Neko Case ‎– Live From Austin TX

New West Records ‎– NW 6107
CD, Album


1 Favorite 3:28
2 Outro With Bees 1:24
3 Behind The House 3:02
4 Ghost Wiring 2:42
5 Deep Red Bells 3:45
6 Knock Loud 2:17
7 Hex 4:46
8 Maybe Sparrow 2:40
9 Wayfaring Stranger 3:00
10 Furnace Room Lullaby 2:54
11 In California 3:20
12 Buckets Of Rain 2:48
13 Look For Me (I'll Be Around) 3:25
14 Alone And Forsaken 3:04

Companies, etc.



Catalog number as printed: NW6107
Recorded August 9, 2003

Liner notes:
Neko's star is still rising and her artistry knows no bounds. This debut ACL performance on August 9, 2003, captures songs from her three seminal solo releases at the time, combining elements of country, gospel and punk for a very unique sound. That's why pundits often find the music hard to classify. Which is a good thing. Her voice has been described as lush, torchy, melancholic - even scary (someone once wrote that "she sings like Patsy Cline's ghost"). She certainly doesn't sound like anything else on today's hit parade. Neko began her career as a drummer in a punk band, but it wasn't long before she started experimenting with songwriting and singing. She also continues to perform as a member of The New Pornographers, but her solo work is where her songwriting skills shine most. As she herself says, "I want to write songs that are timeless... maybe just something more like a novel than a short story."

After the show, Neko took the time to write the ACL staff to thank everybody for making her, her band and friends feel so welcome. "I feel very proud of how the show turned out...It's so great to find out that something you admire so much is run by good people. Be proud! You kick ass!" You, too, Neko...

- Terry Lickona (producer Austin City Limits®)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 6 07396-6107-2 3
  • Barcode (String): 607396610723
  • Matrix / Runout: 66175AM-01 NW6107 111406-12
  • Mastering SID Code: none
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI ZN17
  • Other (Printed In Mould Area): MCOM

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All