Neon Heights ‎– A Hot Trip To Heaven

Shiva Records ‎– SHIVACD003
CD, Album


01 Listen To The Music 3:39
02 Feelin' Blue 4:07
03 Get Down 4:07
04 City Of Love 4:10
05 Come On Over 2:46
06 Breakfast Table 2:36
07 That's Entertainment 6:00
08 Freedom Fighter 3:59
09 Mig 21 3:59
10 Lonely Love 3:50
11 Dirty Lives 2:07
12 Slow Train Sunday 3:17
13 Follow 5:03
14 Woman Upstairs 3:55
15 Sad Guitar 5:52

Companies, etc.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: II CD II SHIVACD003 II 04284-9283 II
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LU31



Add Review



February 15, 2006
edited over 12 years ago

Neon Heights' second album, A HOT TRIP TO HEAVEN, starts off promisingly, with the folk-gospel-sampling "Listen to the Music." But "Feelin' Blue" shows the new direction Neon Heights is taking: more soul, less house. A bit saddening, as A VIEW FROM THE HEIGHTS was a unique and marvelous album. This album has its perks (the bouncy "Get Down") and keeps a unique perspective (listen to the faux country of "City of Love", and Mandisa Dumezweni's vocals add an earthiness and a gospel flair ("Breakfast Table"). But some tracks fall into blandness ("Mig 21") and others (like the dirty funk of "Come On Over") aren't entirely successful. But as "Slow Train Sunday" edges back into house tempo, its melodic layering becomes smile-inducing. So maybe the heights here aren't as high, but that's no reason not to enjoy the elevation.