Neon Heights And Zed J ‎– A View From The Heights

Glasgow Underground ‎– GUCD16
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 3rd Grade Education 7:09
2 Are We Thru 7:00
3 Freeman 7:43
4 Don't Need Nobody 7:09
5 Blow Me Down
Guitar [Additional] – Z.Johnston*
6 16 Again 7:26
7 Gotta Hear It Natural 5:40
8 Cherry Trees (Musical Weapon Mix) 7:58
9 Sweet Bird 8:05


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (scan): 5020667331625



Add Review



October 2, 2005
edited over 15 years ago

From “3rd Grade Education,” the first track on Neon Heights’ debut album, A VIEW FROM THE HEIGHTS, the deepness and quality are immediately evident. There’s a delicacy to the layering of the bass and the airy vocal sample, as well as a surprise when the African vocals come in and kick things up a notch. The careful use of samples are later echoed in the filtered gospel voices of “Freeman” and the R&B sadness of “Don’t Need Nobody.” But when Zoe Johnston lends melancholy lyrics to “Are We Thru” and “Blow Me Down,” the songs seem to go to another level, injecting some real emotion to the music. “Gotta Hear It Natural” is a bit less focused, but “Cherry Trees” has a mysterious darkness that adds some aggression to it. But the real stunner comes in the perfect slice of summer that is “16 Again”: it’s like musical Retin-A for your soul. “Sweet Bird” closes out the album on a downtempo, torch note, making the heights worth reaching again and again.