The New Apocalypse ‎– Stainless Soul

MTA Records (2) ‎– MTS 5017
Vinyl, LP, Stereo, Album


A1 Stainless Soul 4:07
A2 Domicela 2:57
A3 Comin' Home Baby 4:09
A4 Junk Shop 3:11
A5 Wichita Lineman 5:23
B1 Watch Your Step 2:47
B2 Three Shades Of Gray 3:33
B3 Get Outta My Life Woman 3:05
B4 Eleanor Rigby 3:54
B5 Labyrinth 4:13

Companies, etc.


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SPLP 1348 STEREO The New Apocalypse Stainless Soul(LP, Album) Astor SPLP 1348 STEREO Australia 1969 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



March 7, 2015
This is a "Meros Brothers" project, the family outta of Baltimore, that produced the keyboardist for a late '70s and onward incarnation of the Beach Boys -- Mike Meros. Mike isn't listed as a player on this (he left shortly before this recording), but his two brothers Gene and Dennis play Sax and Drums respectively.

This record stands out for its high-in-the-mix drums, and Stax styled instrumental jamming. It didn't sell well, so it's pretty hard to find now a days. Recommended. A lot more info on the band/album here


September 1, 2013
There is little or no info about this band or the musicians. My best bet is that this was a one-off collaboration that was happening frequently in the jazz world back then and still today.
Probably most known is the intro break on the track "Get Out of My Life Woman" sampled by tons of Hip-Hop acts like Cypress Hill (Black Sunday album), LL Cool J and Chuck D.