New Order ‎– 1981-1982

Factory (US) ‎– FACTUS 8
Vinyl, 12", 33 ⅓ RPM, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Everything's Gone Green
Producer [Uncredited] – Martin Hannett
A2 Procession
Producer [Uncredited] – Martin Hannett
A3 Mesh
Producer [Uncredited] – Martin Hannett
B1 Temptation 8:45
B2 Hurt 8:13

Companies, etc.



Some copies issued with sticker on the back sleeve: A Factory US Project, mfg & dist by Rough Trade, San Francisco.

Reverse cover:
© 1982 Factory Communications Ltd

Label side A:
© 1982 Factory Communications Ltd
℗ 1981 Bemusic

Label side B:
© 1982 Factory Communications Ltd
℗ 1982 Bemusic

Tracks A1 and A2 from FAC.53, September 1981.
Track A3 from FBNL8, December 1981.
Tracks B1 and B2 from fac 63, May 1982.

Track times are not listed.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (A side variant 1): FACTUS 8A RE-1 15575 (3)+
  • Matrix / Runout (B side variant 1): FACTUS 8B RE-1 17167 (3)
  • Matrix / Runout (A side variant 2): FACTUS-8A-FVF-RE-1 17169 (3)
  • Matrix / Runout (B side variant 2): FACTUS 8B-FVF-RE-1 17170 (3)
  • Matrix / Runout (A side variant 3): FACTUS 8A RE-1 15575 (3)+
  • Matrix / Runout (B side variant 3): FACTUS 8B RE-1 15576 (3)+
  • Matrix / Runout (A side variant 4): FACTUS 8A RE-1 15575 (3)+ 50511
  • Matrix / Runout (B side variant 4): FACTUS 8B-FVF-RE-1 17170 (3)
  • Matrix / Runout (A side variant 5): FACTUS 8A RE-1 15575 (3)+
  • Matrix / Runout (B side variant 5): FACTUS 8B RE-1 17168 (3)
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other Versions (5 of 27) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
FEP 313 New Order 1981-1982(12", EP, Comp) Factory FEP 313 Canada 1982 Sell This Version
205 553, 205.553 New Order 1981-1982(12", Comp, RE) Factory, Factory 205 553, 205.553 France 1984 Sell This Version
FACTUSC 8 New Order 1981-1982(Cass, Comp, Bla) GAP Records, Factory FACTUSC 8 Australia 1983 Sell This Version
FACTUS 8, 205.553 New Order 1981-1982(12", Comp) Factory, Factory FACTUS 8, 205.553 France 1982 Sell This Version
FACTUS 8 New Order 1981-1982(12", Comp) Base Record, Factory FACTUS 8 Italy 1982 Sell This Version

Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



March 31, 2010

This is the best New Order (mini-)album.

You get the brilliant Martin Hannet touch, and New Order's more loose, unstructured, odd songwriting style before they became more formulaic songwriters. Not that I don't like their later stuff, but there's just something really special and unique about this time period.

The running order on the vinyl starts with E.G.G and ends with Hurt - this is WAAYY better then the cd running order which starts with Temptation and ends with Mesh. It may seem trivial but it makes a huge difference.

This is one of the greatest releases of all time - of any genre.


June 14, 2003

A neat little package, this. Intended as an introduction to the band for markets outside the UK, both the US and Canadian versions ended up being imported to Britain in large numbers and can be picked up for small change today. For your pittance you get the near-definitive history of New Order's early forays into electronica - notably, this collection was the first place most people heard the future classic "Temptation", though only in its chaotic 12" version (the 7" would have given a better idea of the progress New Order were making toward a new pop blueprint). It's cheap, and it's good. What more could you possibly want?