NewOrder* ‎– The John Peel Sessions

Strange Fruit ‎– SFRSCD095
CD, Compilation, Reissue


1 Truth 4:21
2 Senses 4:25
3 I.C.B. 5:19
4 Dreams Never End 3:13
5 Turn The Heater On 5:03
6 We All Stand 5:27
7 Too Late 3:40
8 5-8-6 6:08

Companies, etc.



Tracks 1-4 recorded 26/1/81.
Tracks 5-8 Transmitted 1/6/82.

All tracks published by Warner Chappell Music Ltd except 5 published by EMI Songs Ltd.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed): 6 05563 60952 5
  • Barcode: 605563609525
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): SFRSCD095 STRANGE FRUIT 59687
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): SFRSCD095 STRANGE FRUIT 59688
  • Mastering SID Code (Variants 1 & 2): IFPI LD12
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 5Q07

Other Versions (5 of 23) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SFRLP 110 New Order Peel Sessions(LP, Comp) Strange Fruit SFRLP 110 UK 1990 Sell This Version
SFRLP 110 New Order Peel Sessions(LP, Comp, RE, Unofficial, Cle) Strange Fruit (3) SFRLP 110 UK 2013 Sell This Version
ZJCI 10090, ZJCI-10090 NewOrder* The John Peel Sessions(CD, Comp, Promo, RE) Strange Fruit, BBC Music ZJCI 10090, ZJCI-10090 Japan 2002 Sell This Version
SFRCD 110 New Order Peel Sessions(CD, Comp, May) Strange Fruit SFRCD 110 UK 1990 Sell This Version
SFRLP 110 New Order Peel Sessions(LP, Comp, RE, RP, Unofficial, Gre) Strange Fruit (3) SFRLP 110 US 2015 Sell This Version



Add Review



April 21, 2005
edited over 13 years ago
Joy Division were heavily championed by the late great BBC Radio DJ John Peel, so it was unsurprising that he invited the three remaining members to record Peel Sessions for him in their new guise. This CD collates the two sessions recorded in January 1981 and June 1982. The first four tracks, recorded in the first session, would later appear on the 'Movement' album - New Order's first - and gave the first glimpse of the band stepping out of Joy Division's shadow. There are of course, likeminded nods to their past; 'Dreams Never End' in particular has an eerie structural similarity to the popular 'Ceremony'. But the last four tracks are recorded post-'Temptation', and see the band finally moving in their own direction. '5-8-6' is an odd precursoral prototype to 'Blue Monday' and 'Turn The Heater On' is a captivating revamp of Keith Hudson's reggae standard.