Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds* ‎– Murder Ballads

Mute (2) ‎– STUMM 138
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Unofficial Release, Red Translucent

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Song Of Joy
Drums – Mick Harvey
A2 Stagger Lee
Maracas – Thomas WydlerMusic By – Savage*, Sclavunos*Other [Gun Shots] – Nick CaveOther [Screams] – Blixa Bargeld
A3 Henry Lee
B4 Crow Jane
Other [Space Belt] – Mick HarveyTambourine – Thomas WydlerVocals [Additional] – Geraldine Johnston, Liz Corcoran
B5 The Curse Of Millhaven
Choir – The Moron Tabernacle ChoirGuitar – Hugo RaceTambourine – Jim SclavunosViolin, Accordion – Warren Ellis
B6 Where The Wild Roses Grow
Arranged By [Strings] – Nick CaveBacking Vocals – Conway SavageBacking Vocals, Arranged By [Strings] – Mick HarveyBells – Jim SclavunosCello – Helen MountfortMixed By – Gregg JackmanViola – Kerran CoulterViolin – Jen Anderson, Sue Simpson
B7 Lovely Creature
Horns – Terry EdwardsOrgan [Wind Organ] – Mick HarveyVocals [Additional] – Katharine Blake
C8 The Kindness Of Strangers
Backing Vocals [Crying] – Anita LaneVocals [Additional] – Mariella Del Conte
C9 O'Malley's Bar
Organ – Conway SavagePercussion – Mick Harvey
D10 Death Is Not The End
Bass – Brian HooperVocals – Anita Lane, Blixa Bargeld, Shane MacGowan, Thomas WydlerWritten-By – Dylan*
D11 The Ballad Of Robert Moore & Betty Coltrane
D12 The Willow Garden
D13 King Kong Kitchee Kitchee Ki-Mi-O
D14 Knoxville Girl

Companies, etc.



Recorded in 1993-95 at Atlantis, Sing Sing and Metropolis Studios, Melbourne, Wessex Studios, London and mixed at Metropolis. "Where The Wild Roses Grow" was mixed at Sarm West, London.
Front cover painting "Landschaft I-XXXV" courtesy Kunsthaus Aarau and Swiss Confederation (federal office of culture).
Includes lyrics/credits insert.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 016025 311385
  • Matrix / Runout (A): STUMM-138-A
  • Matrix / Runout (B): STUMM 138-B
  • Matrix / Runout (C): STUMM 138-C
  • Matrix / Runout (D): STUMM 138-D

Other Versions (5 of 89) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CD STUMM 138 Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds* Murder Ballads(CD, Album) Mute CD STUMM 138 UK 1996 Sell This Version
2-46195-A Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds Murder Ballads(CD, Promo) Reprise Records 2-46195-A US 1996 Sell This Version
LCD STUMM 138, 7243 4 84313 2 5 Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds* Murder Ballads(CD, Album, Dig) Mute, Mute LCD STUMM 138, 7243 4 84313 2 5 Europe 1996 Sell This Version
CDStumm 138, 7243 4 84302 2 9 Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds* Murder Ballads(CD, Album) Mute, Mute CDStumm 138, 7243 4 84302 2 9 Germany 1996 Sell This Version
CSTUMM 138, PMU 0121 Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds* Murder Ballads(Cass, Album) Mute, Mute CSTUMM 138, PMU 0121 Europe 1996 Sell This Version



Add Review



March 8, 2015

5 stars!! This album holds a special place in my heart!