Night Sun ‎– Mournin'

Zebra ‎– 2949 004
Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 Plastic Shotgun 2:34
A2 Crazy Woman 4:22
A3 Got A Bone Of My Own 7:45
A4 Slush Pan Man 4:25
B1 Living With The Dying 5:31
B2 Come Down 5:48
B3 Blind 4:24
B4 Nightmare 3:16
B5 Don't Start Flying 3:07

Companies, etc.


Other Versions (5 of 9) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
VK 783 Night Sun Mournin'(CD, Album, Unofficial) Aziя Records VK 783 Russia Unknown Sell This Version
941117 Night Sun Mournin'(CD, Album, Unofficial) Germanofon 941117 1997 Sell This Version
SB LP 041 Night Sun Mournin'(LP, Album, RE) Second Battle SB LP 041 Germany 2001 Sell This Version
SB LP 041 col Night Sun Mournin'(LP, Album, RE, Lim) Second Battle SB LP 041 col Germany 2012 Sell This Version
2489 064 Night Sun Mournin'(LP, Album) Polydor 2489 064 Canada 1973 Sell This Version



Add Review



February 17, 2014
MOURNIN' could be described as being the essential Heavy Metal album. The only member of Night Sun we know anything about is one-time Guru Guru bassist Bruno Schaab, who is also chief songwriter. All the tracks are excellent examples of what HM is all about. Stand out tracks are Got A Bone Of My Own, which starts of with phased guitar turning into a heavy boogie-ish rhythm (reminiscent of the Guru's on IV), and Living With The Dying, which is similar to the Scorpions, but heavier? Also included are some musical phrases which were to become Gum Guru trademarks. Come Down is the odd track on the album. It starts off with drifting organ and builds up into a classy rock track. Don't Start Flying sees the keyboard player changing to sax adding a slight jazz feel to the music. This is well worth getting hold of, especially if you're into Guru Guru and the background of their early members, but again is very hard to get hold of.
by Alan & Steve Freeman, first published in Face Out ca. 1978-79