No Artist ‎– Sea Organ

Wonderfulsound ‎– WSD28LP
Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 Sea Organ 7:09
A2 Solo 2:12
A3 Mid Morning With Fishing Boat 3:11
A4 The Pipes 3:21
A5 On the Waterfront 0:46
A6 Giant 2:51
B1 Stirring And Snoozing 7:59
B2 Up Close 1:23
B3 The Conversation 3:35
B4 Around Midnight 4:50
B5 Mermaids 0:38

Companies, etc.



The sounds perfectly preserved on this disc were recorded by Miles Copeland on a visit to Croatia whilst DJing and performing with his band The Superimposers at a music festival on the Adriatic Coast. A friend recommended he make the short journey to the city of Zadar and visit the Sea Organ.

The Sea Organ turned out to be a 70 metre sound installation by architect Nikola Basic, conceived as part of a project to redesign the coast after the devastation Zadar suffered in World War 2. Open to the public in 2005, the Sea Organ is implanted into the marble steps of the harbour walls. It has 35 organ pipes, which are played by the pressure of the tidal waves lapping air through tuned tubes. The resulting sound wholly depends on the character of the sea affected by weather conditions or harbour traffic, whose ripples create random harmonics and musical chords. 7 successive groups of pipes are tuned to 2 musically cognate chords of the diatonic major scale. Tones and chords are played to create the music as heard on this recording.

The end result is a totally random, occasionally aggressive and sometimes soothing performance, which is, of course, played constantly. Miles returned to the giant Sea Organ that weekend numerous times and made these recordings.

Recorded on a Sony PCM D-50 Digital Recorder at a sample rate of 24 bits over the weekend August 30th-September 2nd 2009, in Zadar, Croatia.
All recordings in Stereo, except A2 and B2, which are in mono.
All the audio on this release are unprocessed apart from volume levelling.

Digital download included.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 060170 500583