Nuts ‎– Okidoki

5th Gear ‎– FGR 7102
CD, Album


1 Power House 5:24
2 Global Infection (Heavy Bass Shit) 5:00
3 Sound Of Darkness 4:03
4 Happy Feeling 3:53
5 Okidoki 4:06
6 House Of Whoo (De Kuip Mix) 5:38
7 Sound Of Darkness (Dark Misery Remix) 4:29
8 Global Infection 4:25
9 Weirdo Science 3:50
10 Power House (Hardcore Mix) 5:42
11 House Of Whoo 4:28
12 Happy Feeling (Left To Right Mix) 3:53
13 Nuts Mind (Fucking Freek Out Mix) 4:51
14 House Of Nuts (R.E.M.I.X.) 4:06


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4001481801663

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
7102 Nuts Okidoki(14xFile, MP3, 320) 5th Gear 7102 Netherlands 2009



Add Review



June 13, 2008

This releases is rated very bad - a bit too bad I think. Maybe the reason is that there is
such a bad review written about the label 5th Gear. If you are a Gabba/ Hardcore lover with
an open heart to low budget-underground tunes but with originality and fun.
I agree on this label review with 90% because I don't like the philosophy of the label too but
this CD is an exception.
It is a ruff composed piece of underground hardcore (some tracks got a happy sounding melody)
by Michael Kappe and has the spirit of young and pure taste composing.
For sure, Kappe uses simple equipment for the tracks (Amiga 500?, Commodore 64?), but E-De
Cologne did the same and today his records are real classics although I don't want to compare
both artists. Some frequencies seem stumbling but it makes all sense again when the bassdrum
underlined the sound. The best tracks? 'Global Infection' comes with happy melody and fast 4/4
bass together with a cute breakbeat which is slamming back and forward, funny fresh and, ok,
simple. But: with this potential and better mastered it could have been a hit in the early 90s in
the Netherlands Gabba scene and the reason that it wasn't is that most don't know this rare cd.
The 2nd good track is track 6 'House Of Whoo' with a wild and fast hitting hardcore sequence
playing over a fast 4/4 bassdrum-knocking (again underlined with breakbeats).Very similar to the
original version on position 11.
My advice is when you can buy this cd don't spend a huge amount on it but take a listen and give
it a chance. In the past I've mixed one or two of the tracks on a party and in combination with a
straight acid tune and reverb/echo effect it was a funny pushing thing.
It's between 3/5 and 4/5 in my opinion...