Nuyorican Soul ‎– Nuyorican Soul

Talkin' Loud ‎– 534 460-2
CD, Album, Repress

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Nuyorican Soul Intro
Written-By, Composed By – Carl K. Gonzalez*, Luis Vega*
2 I Am The Black Gold Of The Sun
Arranged By [Backing Vocals] – Lisa FischerArranged By [Strings], Conductor [Strings] – Vincent Montana, Jr.Backing Vocals – Bennie Diggs*, Cindy Mizelle, Lisa Fischer, Paulette McWilliamsCello – Anthony PirolloDrums [Live] – Vidal DavisLead Vocals – Jocelyn BrownLyrics By [Additional] – Jocelyn BrownViola – Peter Nocella*, Victoria MatosichViolin – Christine Reeves, Gregory Teperman, Olga Konopelsky, Orest Artymiw, Richard Jones (2), Anthony Posk*Written-By, Composed By – Charles Stephney*, Richard Rudolph
3 It's Alright, I Feel It!
Backing Vocals – Bennie Diggs*, Jocelyn Brown, Lisa FischerDrums [Live] – Vidal DavisLead Vocals – Jocelyn BrownPiano – Terry BurrusWritten-By, Composed By – Bennie Diggs*, Jocelyn Brown, Carl K. Gonzalez*, Luis Vega*
4 Maw Latin Blues 6:20
5 Gotta New Life 4:27
6 Nautilus (Mawtilus) 7:12
7 Taita Caneme 4:59
8 Habriendo El Dominante 6:08
9 Roy's Scat
Scat, Vibraphone – Roy Ayers
10 Sweet Tears
Lead Vocals, Vibraphone – Roy Ayers
11 Runaway
Lead Vocals – India
12 Shoshana
Arranged By [Horns] – Hilton RuizBass – Gene PerezFlute – Dave ValentinPiano – Hilton RuizSaxophone – David Sanchez (3)Timbales – Bobby Allende, Marc QuinteroTrombone – Steve TurreTrumpet – Charlie SepulvedaVibraphone – Tito PuenteWritten-By, Composed By – Mark Levine
13 Jazzy Jeff's Theme
Scratches [Technic 1200's] – Jazzy Jeff*Written-By – D. McDaniels*, R. Simmons*
14 You Can Do It (Baby)
Keyboards – Albert "Sterling" MenendezLead Vocals, Guitar – George BensonWritten-By, Composed By – George Benson, Carl K. Gonzalez*, Luis Vega*

Companies, etc.



143 RPM

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (String): 731453446021
  • Barcode (Text): 7 31453 44602 1
  • Matrix / Runout: 07314 543 460-2 03 +
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): MADE IN GERMANY BY UNIVERSAL M & L AA
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): MADE IN GERMANY BY UNIVERSAL M & L AB
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L002
  • Rights Society: BIEM/MCPS
  • Label Code: LC/6521
  • Price Code: PY/900

Other Versions (5 of 16) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
534 460-2 Nuyorican Soul Nuyorican Soul(CD, Album) Talkin' Loud, Giant Step Records 534 460-2 UK & Europe 1997 Sell This Version
578 795-1 Nuyorican Soul Nuyorican Soul(6x12", Album, Ltd + Box) Talkin' Loud, Giant Step Records 578 795-1 UK 1996 Sell This Version
none Nuyorican Soul Nuyorican Soul(CD, Promo + Cass, Album, Promo + Box, Promo) Talkin' Loud none UK 1996 Sell This Version
GSRD-1130 Nuyorican Soul Nuyorican Soul(CD, Album, Club) Giant Step Records GSRD-1130 US 1997 Sell This Version
none Nuyorican Soul Nuyorican Soul(Cass, Album, Promo) Talkin' Loud none UK 1996 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



November 29, 2010
edited over 7 years ago
What can I say that hasn't been said already? Well…I'll give it a try.

This is the culmination of Louie & Kenny's many years of experience working with world class musicians and singers, and perhaps the highest point of their many accomplishments. I don't mean to imply they've gone downhill since then, or anything like that; I just don't think they could ever *outdo* this one.

I loved their deep house and hip hop stuff back when they were "just" a couple dudes writing tracks, but sometime around 1994, they really started to take it to the next level. A major milestone that stands out in my mind was the song "Love & Happiness" (which they released as River Ocean, with singer India). It was one of the greatest of the great singles of that era -- a time when singles were sometimes a bigger deal than entire albums (like they used to be in the 60s and 70s). Consider their epic hit "The Bomb", as The Bucketheads…if you're even reading this page, I bet you have a copy of that track in your crate or on your shelf. Now how many of you bought The Bucketheads *album*?

(I did, but you didn't really need to. What you *should* buy, however, is Chicago's epic disco classic "Street Player". I give Louie & Kenny full props for digging this one out, but their track was pretty much borrowed wholesale from Chicago's song, and once you've heard the original, "The Bomb" starts to sound like a skipping record, but I digress. The Bomb really was the bomb when it first landed.)

There was a real charm to MaW's double 12" singles. Thick, heavy, high quality vinyl, truly great songs (as opposed to "tracks") made with a parade of talented musicians, and great remixes by great artists (the latter doesn't always guarantee the former!). You could hear how much love and sweat had gone into each one.

To me, that's the backstory that led up to this album. At this point I felt like their love of music had reached a level of maturity that allowed them to really break out of the mold and find their true voice. It's pretty impressive that they managed to bring their own style to the table, even while working with some of the living legends of our time (George Benson, Roy Ayers, Tito Puente…do I even need to drop names here?).

They said themselves, in the liner notes of this album, that it was a dream come true to work with these musicians, and I'm sure it really was. It's been a treat just *listening* to all this fine music over the years. These tracks still sound as fresh and alive as they did when I first tore the plastic off my copy back in 1997.

Enormous respect.