The Olivia Tremor Control ‎– Black Foliage • Animation Music • Volume One

Chunklet Magazine ‎– CHKLP007, Chunklet Magazine ‎– CHKLP-007
2 × Vinyl, LP, Reissue, Remastered

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Opening 0:25
A2 A Peculiar Noise Called "Train Director" 3:02
A3 Combinations 0:05
A4 Hideway
Acoustic Guitar – Bryan Helium, John D'Azzo, Kevin Barnes
A5 Black Foliage (Animation 1) 1:11
A6 Combinations 0:14
A7 The Sky Is A Harpsichord Canvas 0:04
A8 A Sleepy Company
Cello, Sampler [Sample] – Eric LedfordMelodica – Jeff MangumVocals – Robert Schneider
A9 Grass Canons
Percussion – Jeff MangumPercussion [Intro] – Jeremy BarnesVibraphone – Josh McKayXylophone, Performer [Selemintan] – Kai Reidel
B1 A New Day
Guitar – Robert Schneider
B2 Combinations 0:15
B3 Black Foliage (Animation 2) 1:22
B4 I Have Been Floated
Saw – Julian KosterVocals – Andrew Reiger*, Bryan Helium, Erin Rodriguez, Jeff Mangum, Kevin Barnes, Laura Carter
B5 Paranormal Echoes 3:31
B6 Black Foliage (Animation 3) 0:44
B7 A Place We Have Been To
Organ [Magnus] – Julian Koster
C1 Black Foliage (Itself)
Accordion – Julian Koster
C2 The Sylvan Screen
Accordion – Julian KosterBanjo – Julian Koster
C3 The Bark And Below It
Featuring [Diving, Divers Splash] – Christopher Hart
C4 Black Foliage (Animation 4) 1:36
D1 California Demise (3)
Accordion – Julian KosterVocals – John D'Azzo, Kevin BarnesVocals [Vocal] – Julian Koster
D2 Looking For Quiet Seeds 3:13
D3 Combinations 0:11
D4 Mystery 3:26
D5 Another Set Of Bees In The Museum 3:07
D6 Black Foliage (Animation 5) 2:08
D7 Hilltop Procession (Momentum Gaining)
Percussion – Laura CarterVocals – Jeff Mangum, Jennifer Olliff*, John D'Azzo, Kevin Barnes, Laura CarterVocals [Vocal] – Julian Koster, Robbee Cucchiaro

Companies, etc.



Black Foliage • Animation Music
Recorded on various 4 and 8 track machines at home 95-98 and with Robert Schneider mixing and overdubbing on some tracks for two weeks in the spring of 98.

Track A8 cello sampled from his contribution to The Late Music by Black Swan Network on several of the tracks.

"Tell us your dreams, send cassette taped details documenting your dreams and sounds of your environment (real or otherwise) four our next project."

Black • Foliage • Notes
"The idea as black foliage began was to take a section of the guitar line from Black Foliage (now called Itself) and make a set of animated departures stemming from that bass guitar melody, twisting it to many variations • as time moved on the animation series became intermingled with our daily lives, we added new hunks of sound everyday, the animation sections began to include pieces of each other example: the vocals from 1 were reshaped and sampled into 2 that reworking would be used. Again reshaped for for 3 etc. as the other songs began to take shape we began extracting elements of them example: horns from "Hideaway" and string part from "A Sleepy Company" as each song became integrated as a whole into the new songs, edits became edits within edits...which birthed "combinations"--pieces of songs melodies vocal parts, drum fills etc. become electronic interludes that are derived from the songs themselves, all of which are in various states of becoming or drifting back from animation. Including dreams along the way from our "send us your dream" appeal careful though was also considered as to making the music pulse with the rhythm of modern life at times things seem quiet, or multiple sounds merge...let your environment in..."

Black Foliage • Flags of Sympathy Swan Response
Track A1: Lots of theramins
Track A3: This first brief introduction was pieces of the animation sections to come
Track A4: 10 acoustic guitars are added 2 at a time as the mix progresses
Track A6: Tapes from our "Dream Appeal" are filtered over 3 animation sections
Track A8: The violin and clarinet tracks in the first break were synced to the mix to retain the qualities of a fortunate accident that occured as the part was being realized at home, as the mix returns to the chorus the violins and clarinets slowly fall out of sync with each other to create a natural phase-like effect • the closing animation is all made up of violins and cello from the chorus
Track A9: What if we wore our stripes in the sky?
Track B1: Two different sets of lyrics were combined in the left and right channels to achieve a new history. During the breakdown this songs horn section was sampled and is the source of animation
Track B2: Several vocals from Animation I are blended into the theramins from Opening
Track B3: Listen closely...pieces from every animation section are used
Track B4: During the final chorus voices of 10 friends blend with and relieve each other: a thread runs through alll things
Track B5: Listening to bells and hardened beaches untouched
Track B6: Paranormal Echoes theme crossed with the Black Foliage melody
Track C1: Clarinet is filtered through a variable speed oscillator adding lower harmonies to a chorus of saxophones
Track C2: The opening is made from various tapes from Sweden (Aug 96)
Track C3: An ocean is heard merging with the sounds of several bells. High wires and low bass are provided by two disguised pianos. Soon several vocal sounds are manipulated to sound froglike as kitchen bowls become tiny gongs, soon to be interrupted by violins and cellos of The Sleepy Company. Things continue and merge with a street scene and at 4:15 an abrupt shift is brought by samples of the horns from several songs and piano turning to wet bursts, clarinets turn to flutes then to wet bursts, they stand alone at 4:46. A piano phrase is repeated 6 times before the street scene is visited again, under a blend of cellos form "Late Music" and horns from "Train Director" manipulates involving violin, cello, piano and clarinet continue until a marriage between these sounds and "Looking For Quiet Seeds" begins to sound like a transistor radio. At 7:40 Black Foliage theme leads in a divers splash, the songs re-emerge and various manipulations carry through to the final phase where animation to come is filtered and blended until the introduction of the final animation.
Track C4: Things which seemed like guitars in the closing moments are actually people humming overdubbed to sound like a symphony
Track D1: I watched an eyeglass get up and walk away
Track D2: The load vocal effect is gargled water
Track D4: I know it's hard to believe in something you can't see
Track D5: The flags, above them, can we go?

Gatefold cover
Includes a download card

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): CHNKLP A I'm a ramblin' guy JJGOLDEN
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): CHNKLP-007 B RAMBLIN apostrophe O'Ramblin... JJGOLDEN
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C): JJGOLDEN CHNKLP-007 C You've been great, really, I want to thank each and every one of you for coming by...
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D): CHNKLP-007 D Thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you... JJGOLDEN


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



September 23, 2016
edited over 2 years ago
Amazing pressing and pretty nice packaging as well. Sounds absolutely amazing and would recommend this version to anybody.


July 28, 2015

Great pressing. Very satisfied.


June 20, 2015

High quality reissue by Chunklet, thick sleeve and sounds excellent.