Olympic (2) ‎– Souhvězdí Drsňáků

Supraphon ‎– SU 6242-2
CD, Album


1 Mám Radost Ze Života 0:50
2 Leguán 3:24
3 Kámen Co Se Valí 3:52
4 Němá 5:05
5 Muzikál 2:56
6 Je To Tak 3:50
7 Noc Horká Jako Dech 3:08
8 Dlouhán 3:33
9 Tancovačka 2:56
10 Láska Divoká 4:09
11 Souhvězdí Drsňáků 3:44
12 Průserář 3:35
13 Můžeš Být Můj Vykřičník 3:42

Companies, etc.


Recorded in 2014


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 099925624224

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SU 6242-1 Olympic (2) Souhvězdí Drsňáků(LP, Album) Supraphon SU 6242-1 Czech Republic 2014 Sell This Version


Add Review



February 28, 2015
Supraphon Release Information

The second instalment of the legendary Czech band’s album trilogy!

A must-have for fans, for the generations of listeners who have grown up on Olympic’s music. An album serving as proof of the fact that even after half a century of composing and performing they can deliver songs that in many respects rank up there with the famous hits of the past. Thus the grand Best of collection has been extended to include more pieces.

Last year’s album was a set made up of good songs with a tinge of the singular Olympic pop. This time, the hellraisers would refer to the hardrock ride the band was capable of, yet ultimately only opted for this path in a few cases (the Leguán and Muzikál discs). One way or another, this is an indisputably more rock’n’roll album, employing the minimum of acoustic instruments, with amusingly obstinate riffs, opened with an a capella tune and supplemented with several truly forcible ballads (e.g. Němá), yet primarily based on vigorous guitar pieces. One of the songs, Tancovačka, is reminiscent of the Želva and Rosomák era, appended with the notorious sample.

Many of the tracks afford ample scope for the brisk Broum/Vajgl rhythm section, Valenta’s well-measured keyboards, plus "Django" Janda with the guitar by the microphone. All the music is composed by Janda, with the texts furnished by him, Brichta, Fencl, Chrastina, Krečmar and Šíp, who brought to the album veritable “livin’ on the edge” themes, ranging from successfully defending a rocker against the rushing years, through a fight with a love rival, to a boyhood friend who has become a criminal. Janda writes, sings and plays songs commensurate to his age and experience, including reminiscences of the 1960s, days spent on the road, nights spent boozing, and loves past and present.

Don’t expect any massive change of direction, this is simply, quintessentially Olympic. Always immediately recognisable, still admirable, charged with a new energy. The band’s worshippers will embrace plenty of the new songs, while others, including open-minded radio stations, should take note of the hit-like quality of the pieces Souhvězdí drsňáků, Kámen, co se valí or Noc horká jak dech.

Olympic 2014: Riding on, part two, but more rock’n’roll this time.