Omar Santana ‎– EP

Master Maximum Records ‎– MM 1017, Master Maximum Records ‎– MM1017
Vinyl, 12", 45 RPM, EP


Logo Side:
A1 Phat Beats 4:53
A2 Shake That Ass 5:09
Written Side:
B1 Oh Oh Boy 4:48
B2 Come On Everybody 5:08

Companies, etc.



Catalog number appears on the sleeve as MM 1017 and on the center label as MM1017

Produced, Mixed & Written for Santana Productions under license from H2OH Recordings, Queens, NY
Published by Oh Boy Music (ASCAP) & Totally Def Creations (ASCAP)
Distribution by Mid-town

B1 samples "Lost Continent" by Cycle On Five.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: STEMRA
  • Matrix / Runout (A-Side): MM1017-A HCB874473
  • Matrix / Runout (B-Side): MM1017-B HCB874473


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



January 9, 2021
It seems Charly Lownoise and Mental Theo were fans of the Car Jacker EP on H2OH Recordings. They asked Omar if they could license two of the tracks to their own label. Omar Santana didn't want to release Happy Hardcore on his own record label, so to complete the record, he submitted two more happier tunes to Master Maximum Records.

Phat Beats starts off with a live crowd sample possibly in the same vein as Ultra-Sonic, Scooter and Charly and Theo themselves. The fat beat sample has been lifted from Digital Boys' 1991, Gimme A Fat Beat. The main synth riff is a solid Gabber number. The mid section has a more serious bassline synth and eventually a bubbly Acid line. The Acid is mixed in with a very famous classical piano sound, in this case its Mozart's Rondo Alla Turca. A smart move by Omar, if Happy Hardcore needs pianos, why not sample classical music. At certain points, Omar employs hard Crashes on the beat, similar to what Scott Brown was doing at the time. Phat Beats is a great start to the record!

The other track off H2OH07 starts with a sample from The Movement's 1992 Dance track, Jump. The Shake That Ass sample (and other vocal samples) have been taken from Twin Hype's 1989 For Those Who Like To Groove (Hollywood Sweat Mix). The main riff is a squiggly Hoover that sounds nice, the riff is taken down a notch later sounding more serious in nature. The middle is dominated by a springy synth stab which is quite effective and also acts as a quality bassline synth. Of the four tracks here, Shake That Ass is the closest to Dutch Gabber. A pretty good A-Side in general.

The title Oh Oh Boy seems to be related to DJ Oh Oh Omar Santana. The track starts with a lovely sample of Lost Continent by Cycle By Five, with more Crashes. With the scretching car tyre sound effect we get a pronounced keyboard riff that sounds really good, and even when its halved, it makes for a dope bassline. The secondary sound is a combination of a nice little Acid wobble and a sparkly alarm sound effect. There's a long-ish outro, which is good for long mixes. This is the first Oh Oh Omar Santana song I heard since it was on my first Gabber CD, Thunderdome X, it's still one of my favourites by him.

The final track on the record is Come On Everybody. This one is really dipping its toes into cheese. The main stab section is very fairground in sound and probably the most Happiest thing Omar Santana ever did. What's interesting here is the middle sound used, its a dark moody synth, the opposite of the main riff. Usually the dark and light formula works, but here it sounds quite jarring. Having said that, I can see why it was played in the UK, in particular by Brisk who mixed it like an absolute champion.

A common thread throughout the record is Omar Santana's unique low sounding kickdrums, it really does a great job of holding up all the tracks, with all that superb programming and engineering on top. This excellent record must have helped Omar Santana get more DJ bookings in Europe and eventually dealing with ID&T.

Omar Santana hates the photo of himself on the record cover. When he was signing my copy of this record, I told him it looked good, but I don't think he was convinced!


January 12, 2020

2 favourite Omar tracks on here Shake That Ass and Come On Everybody


October 22, 2018
B1 Oh Oh Boy. The melody is taken from Cycle on Five - Lost Continent (Excessive Mix) Land of Oz VINYLLAND 004R [1994]