One Self ‎– Children Of Possibility

Ninja Tune ‎– ZENCD94
CD, Album, Enhanced, Digipak

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Fear The Labour 5:31
2 Trying To Speak
Featuring, Chorus – Demolition Man
3 Be Your Own 4:45
4 Temptation 4:46
5 Over Expose 5:47
6 Bluebird 3:46
7 SD2 6:34
8 Paranoid 4:16
9 Hollow Human Beings 4:41
10 Cupid Smiling The Smile
Featuring, Vocals – Little Green
11 Sunshine 6:31
12 Unfamiliar Places
Backing Vocals – John Ellis, Little Green
Video Bluebird

Companies, etc.


  • Artwork By –


The enhanced part of the CD contains a music video of the track "Bluebird".

(P) + (C) Ninja Tune 2005

Made in England

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 021392 410128
  • Barcode (String): 5021392410128
  • Matrix / Runout: IMPRESS ZENCD94 01
  • Matrix / Runout (Moulded): MADE IN THE UK
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L135
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 0469

Other Versions (5 of 7) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ZEN 94 One Self Children Of Possibility(2xLP, Album) Ninja Tune ZEN 94 UK 2005 Sell This Version
ZEN 94 INST One Self Children Of Possibility (Instrumentals)(2xLP) Ninja Tune ZEN 94 INST UK 2005 Sell This Version
ZENCD94P One Self Children Of Possibility(CD, Album, Promo) Ninja Tune ZENCD94P UK 2005 Sell This Version
ZEN CD94p One Self Children Of Possibility(CDr, Album, Promo) Ninja Tune ZEN CD94p UK 2005 Sell This Version
ZENCD94P One Self Children Of Possibility + EPK Film(CD, Album, Promo + DVD, Promo, Ele) Ninja Tune ZENCD94P UK 2005 Sell This Version



Add Review



March 3, 2014

PIty the poor conscious hip-hop movement. Constantly overshadowed by its more aggressive brothers, it's too often pushed aside. One Self, luckily, offers a strong contender in CHILDREN OF POSSIBILITY, with the Middle Eastern instrumentation of "Fear the Labour." The lyrics here have a strong delivery, particularly by Yarah Bravo, who has a laconic crispness to her voice (check out the anti-porn track, "Over Exposed"). DJ Vadim's beats lean towards the smoky and mellow. "Trying to Speak" touches on some dancehall, but I much prefer the Indian raga samples of "Be Your Own," which lets the stuttering rhythm come to the fore even more. He takes on funk with "Bluebird" and throws the kitchen sink into the instrumental "SD2," while "Unfamiliar Places" mines a nice vein of soul. Though this album seems like a one-off, it still has plenty of possibility.