Orbital ‎– Orbital

FFRR ‎– 828248-1, FFRR ‎– 8282481
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Moebius 7:01
A2 Speed Freak 7:17
A3 Macro Head
Engineer – P.J. Dynamix*
B1 Oolaa 6:15
B2 Desert Storm 12:06
C1 Fahrenheit 303 8:26
C2 Steel Cube Idolatry 6:34
C3 High Rise 8:23
D1 Chime (Live) 5:56
D2 Midnight (Live) 6:53
D3 Belfast
Engineer – Tim HuntEngineer [Assistant] – Herbert LeschPerformer [Extract From "O Euchari"] – Emily Van Evera

Companies, etc.



This has EMI-style matrix codes and is presumably a UK pressing.
Another pressing (Orbital) has "Made in Holland" on the labels and PRS Baarn-style matrix codes.

Catalog number on back cover and inner sleeves: 828248-1
Catalog number on spine: 8282481

Info on back cover, inner sleeves, and labels:
℗ 1991 FFRR
© 1991 FFRR

Info on back cover:
Marketed in France by Barclay and in Germany by Metronome Musik, GmbH

Info on disc 1 inner sleeve:
*[referring to 'Belfast'] Extract from 'O Euchari' - performed by Emily Van Evera. Used by courtesy of Hyperion Records.
'Macro Head' recorded at Gee St.
'Belfast' recorded at Marcus Studios.

Contains the exclusive track 'Macro Head', which is only available on the vinyl format.
'Macro Head' uses a sample from Q describing Worf in Star Trek: The Next Generation.
'The Moebius' uses samples from Worf and Laforge describing a spacial anomaly in Star Trek: The Next Generation.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 42282 82481 3
  • Barcode (Scanned): 042282824813
  • Label Code: LC7654
  • Rights Society: BIEM STEMRA
  • Price Code: BA248
  • Other (Disc 1 sleeve catalog number): 828285-1
  • Other (Disc 2 sleeve catalog number): 828286-1
  • Other (Disc 1 label catalog number): 828285.I
  • Other (Disc 2 label catalog number): 8282861
  • Matrix / Runout (Label side A): 828248IA
  • Matrix / Runout (Label side C): 828248IC
  • Matrix / Runout (Run-out etchings side A): 8282481 A-2U-1-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Run-out etchings side B): 8282481 B-1U-1-1 SIMON-THE EXCHANGE
  • Matrix / Runout (Run-out etchings side C): SIMON-THE EXCHANGE 8282481 C-1U-1-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Run-out etchings side D): RACHEL, LOUIS, MILO XXX SIMON-THE EXCHANGE 8282481 D-1U-1-1

Other Versions (5 of 37) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
8282482 Orbital Orbital(CD, Album) FFRR 8282482 UK & Europe 1991 Sell This Version
none Orbital Orbital(Cass, Album, Promo) Barclay, FFRR none France 1992 Sell This Version
8282482 Orbital Orbital(CD, Album) Gut Records (3) 8282482 Russia Unknown Sell This Version
8282482 Orbital Orbital(CD, Album, Unofficial) Gut Records (3) 8282482 Russia Unknown Sell This Version
35032-2 Orbital Orbital(CD, Album, RE, RP) FFRR 35032-2 US Unknown Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



July 19, 2010
A truly special album that defined a generation of club music and bedroom techno. Any album containing the masterpieces Chime, Midnight and Belfast is likely to be a classic, even if the other tracks are bulgarian monastic chanting. But they're not. Steel Cube Idolatry and Oolaa are special in their own right and the whole album just works seamlessly. All in an essential LP if you were a club goer in the early 90s or you want a flavour of what it was like when dance music got epic.


June 28, 2007
edited over 11 years ago
This LP for me epitomises what Orbital are (or were) all about. A lot of people say that the Brown album is the one. Both albums are old in terms of techno music and I wouldnt even say that they were groundbreaking. After all, the first Orbital LP came out what seemed an eternity after the singles contained on it (2 years later which is a vey long time after to release an LP). Its the simplicity that does it for me. The build ups on these tracks are so simple. You get one sound doing its thing for 32 beats then another sound is introduced for the same period of time and so on and so on. The whole LP is built his way. It is this style which sets itself apart from the brown album which is good, BUT, It fixes itself in a period of time that will always sound likes its from 94. When you listen to Kraftwerk, you are listening to innovation in techno music that has a real robotic feel to it. You listen to Kraftwerk because you are into where it all comes from historically. I cant listen to the Brown album in this way whereas its predecessor has that real early techno vibe and is the basis of Orbital's sound. Everything following that would never sound like that but would follow or fit in with what was going on musically at the time. It would still sound like Orbital but you have to go to the roots to get the real deal.

The Green album sounded dated when it first came out! If you dont remember, there was stuff like Mescalinium United which still sounds like the sound of the future today. It just didnt sound up-to-date like that and most of the people I played it to, had not really been on the scene as long as me and were listening to the Begium and German stuff.

The sound of the Green LP has more appeal now and will continue to have more appeal as time goes on whereas the tracks that were from Germany and may have sounded new and fresh then, you wouldn't dream of playing now. Its a funny thing. If I were asked to reccomend an Orbital album, It would be this. It is what made them. Its their sound. It has Chime, Midnight and Belfast all on one side. Just for that - this is it. The rest is fantastic too. Just dont expect new synth sounds. It about the composition, the build-up and the breakdowns. Its so simple but so effective. Nobody did it like Orbital did.