Ousu «Lion» Njie* & The Kunta Kinte Band ‎– Right Direction

Not On Label ‎– KKB-001
Vinyl, LP


A1 Stop The Fight
A2 Mambamba
A3 Namibia
A4 Sene-Gambia
B1 Hypocrite
B2 Mbanyi
B3 Kunta Kinte
B4 Ya Fatou Njie

Companies, etc.



Ousu «Lion» Njie, originally from the Gambia, has made Norway his home the last couple of years. His career stretches back to 1967 with the Gambian band Gelewar which released three albums.
Ousu both composes and arranges the music he plays. In addition, he plays a number of instruments, keyboards and drums being his specialities. Not bad for a man who lost his arm in an accident several years ago!
The lyrics of Ousu's songs are sung in English, Wolof and Mandinka. In spite of the upbeat afro-reggae rhythms, their themes are often quite serious. Many of the songs are about war and strife, but also about the need for brotherly and sisterly love between people.
Recorded and mixed at City Sound, Oslo, Norway.
Thanks to everyone for helping make this LP a reality, especially Ba-Musa Ceesay, Stein Kråbøl, George Chioko and Robert Kjærstad.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: BIEM/n©b
  • Matrix / Runout (A side runout): KK 1 A Audiodisc 88/028 £ PD-Polar
  • Matrix / Runout (B side runout): KK 1 B Audiodisc 88/028 £ PD-Polar