Overkill ‎– Killbox 13

Spitfire Records ‎– SPITCD224, Spitfire Records ‎– GAS 0000224 SPR
CD, Album


1 Devil By The Tail 5:24
2 Damned 4:13
3 No Lights 5:52
4 The One 4:58
5 Crystal Clear 5:03
6 The Sound Of Dying 4:56
7 Until I Die 5:20
8 Struck Down 4:42
9 Unholy 4:40
10 I Rise 5:08

Companies, etc.



Recorded at Gear Recording Studio, Shrewsbury NJ, Sept-Oct 02.
Mixed at Sonalyst Studio, Waterford CT.
Mastered at Masterdisk NYC.

℗ 2003 Overkill © 2003 Overkill
Issued under license to Spitfire Records
Spitfire Records is a division of Eagle Rock Entertainment Limited
Made in Germany

3D Modeling in conjunction with the Kerner Institute

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 036369 522421
  • Matrix / Runout: manufactured by optimal media production A375752-01
  • Mastering SID Code: ifpi L571
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 9704

Other Versions (5 of 18) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SPITMC 224-4 Overkill Killbox 13(Cass, Album) Spitfire Records SPITMC 224-4 Indonesia 2003 Sell This Version
MASS CD 1350 DG Overkill Killbox 13(CD, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, RM, Dig) Metal Mind Productions MASS CD 1350 DG Poland 2009 Sell This Version
CRCL-4574 Overkill Killbox 13(CD, Album) Crown (3) CRCL-4574 Japan 2003 Sell This Version
SPT 15224-2 Overkill Killbox 13(CD, Album, Promo) Spitfire Records SPT 15224-2 US 2003 Sell This Version
CRCL-4574 Overkill Killbox 13(CD, Album, Promo) Crown (3) CRCL-4574 Japan 2003 Sell This Version



Add Review



March 28, 2018
Overkill delivers the goods with this 2003 release

Released in 2003, KILLBOX 13 is the twelfth full-length studio album by New Jersey’s Overkill. This easily ranks with my top five albums by the thrash act. Like all great thrash bands – e.g. Death Angel, Kreator and Forbidden – Overkill isn’t one-dimensional and so their music includes elements of trad metal, punk, haunting acoustic pieces, doom and groove metal. Of course, the formidable frontman Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth can be annoying with his banshee-like vocals, but he has the skill and diligence to make his vox match each song, and it WORKS.

There are two cuts on KILLBOX 13 that are mandatory Overkill songs: The creative “No Lights” with its start/stop riff and melodic chorus; and “Struck Down” with its “Phantom of the Opera”-like riffs and stunning post-chorus section combined with a great solo-break.

Other notables include: The driving opener “Devil by the Tail”; “The One”; the heavy “Crystal Clear,” which mixes doomy blues with weighty groove; the melodic “Until I die,” which is innovative; and the likable "Unholy."