Owen Marshall ‎– The Naked Truth

Jazzman ‎– JMANCD 048
CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Electric Flower
Synthesizer [Obe], Alto Saxophone, Electric Piano, Narrator [Narration] – Owen Marshall
2 Nana's Sleeping
Electric Piano, Alto Saxophone – Owen Marshall
3 Peanut Butter Ice Cream Man
Bass [Fender] – Danny WhatleyCongas – Shakur AbdullahDrums – Derrick RobertsElectric Piano – Ernest StraughterFlute – Owen MarshallPercussion – M'Cheza Blue*
4 Planet Funk
Bass [Fender] – Danny WhatleyCongas – Shakur AbdullahDrums – Derrick RobertsElectric Piano, Flute – Owen MarshallPercussion – M'Cheza Blue*
5 Paper Man
Bass – Danny WhatleyPiano, Performer [Tube-a-phone], Steel Drums [Steel Drum], Bongos, Drums – Owen Marshall
6 Winter Butterfly
Bass [Fender] – Danny WhatleyCongas – Shakur AbdullahDrums – Derrick RobertsFlute, Electric Piano – Owen MarshallPercussion – M'Cheza Blue*
7 Casa Del Soul
Bass – Danny WhatleyGuitar, Flute, Chimes [Toilet Chimes], Drums, Performer [Bamboo Scraper], Voice [Baja (Jungle) Bird Talk] – Owen Marshall
8 Ancient Astronauts
Electric Piano, Flute, Performer [Tube-a-phone], Synthesizer [Obe] – Owen MarshallVoice [Background Voices] – Bonita Versh, Cheryl Marshall (2), Owen Marshall
Bonus Tracks
9 Grunt (Uh-Uh-Uh)
10 Evolove

Companies, etc.



"Peanut Butter Ice Cream Man" recorded live at Compton Community College, Los Angeles.
"Winter Butterfly" recorded live at Los Angeles City College, Los Angeles.
All other selections recorded at Devala Studios, Los Angeles.

The bonus tracks were originally available on extremely rare 7"'s released by both Viscojon and Tri-Spade Records out of LA. There is also mention on the SSS International discography that there is a further issue, although at the time of print this has not been confirmed.

This reissue ℗ & © 2012 Jazzman Records Ltd.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5036468200480
  • Matrix / Runout: JMANCD048 053019

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
none Owen Marshall Captain Puff In The Naked Truth(LP, Album) Aditi Records none US 1975 Sell This Version
JMANLP 048, JM.089 Owen Marshall The Naked Truth(LP, Album, Ltd, RE + 7") Jazzman, Jazzman JMANLP 048, JM.089 UK 2012 Sell This Version