P.J. Proby ‎– I'm Yours

Fantastic Voyage ‎– FVCD032


1 They Call The Wind Maria 3:27
2 Draw Me A Circle 2:19
3 Mama Married A Preacher 3:10
4 Mary In The Morning 3:13
5 If I Loved You 2:17
6 Put Your Head On My Shoulder 2:48
7 Twilight Time 3:13
8 Ecstasy 2:37
9 Only You (And You Alone) 2:46
10 Sunday Goodbye 3:42
11 Where 3:34
12 Stay Awhile 3:25
13 I'm Yours 2:10


Texan Jim Smith headed for Hollywood after graduating, to commence a singing, songwriting and acting career, first as Jett Powers and then as PJ Proby. By 1961 he was recording for Liberty, but success proved elusive, until 1964 when an introduction to Jack Good led to an invitation to the UK to appear on the global TV special Around The Beatles. Proby then landed a contract with UK Decca, with whom he enjoyed big hits with Hold Me and Together. Now basing his career in the UK, the singer was back on Liberty between 1964 and 1970, with nine further hit singles. Proby brought his extraordinary voice to bear on a wide range of material, encompassing Brian Wilson and Lennon/McCartney songs, R&B, country, ballads and standards. Proby played the star to the hilt, he sported a ponytail and his entourage included a hairdresser. However two onstage trouser-splitting incidents in January 1965 led to a ban from theatres and broadcasts, which did lasting damage to his career. From the seventies onwards Proby has appeared in rock musicals, including Catch My Soul, Elvis, Good Rockin Tonite! and Only The Lonely. More recently Proby has acquired the status of heritage artist, releasing the Marc Almond-produced Legend album, singing in the Who s touring production of Quadrophenia, and celebrating his 70th birthday in 2008 with the 20th Century Hits album.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5055311000329

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
NR 5069 P.J. Proby I'm Yours(LP, Album) Ember Records NR 5069 UK 1973 Sell This Version
MALPS 362 P.J. Proby I'm Yours(LP, Album) Master (6), Ember Records MALPS 362 New Zealand 1973 Sell This Version