Patrick O'Hearn ‎– Glaciation

Label: Music ‎– 1006-2
CD, Album


1 Intension And Objective 2:15
2 Under Weigh 2:48
3 The Approaching Ice 3:16
4 Oblique Formations 3:09
5 Forsaken Beauty 2:29
6 Our Temperable Host 3:52
7 Resourceful Adaptation 4:07
8 Upon Solitary Expanse 2:38
9 Glaciation 4:16
10 Gradual Understanding 2:25
11 Better Times Ahead 2:36
12 A Safe Return 2:59
13 Beneath The Celestial Sphere 6:21



Created at Lair Subterraneous, January to May 2007.

©+℗2007 Patrick O'Hearn


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 8 04628 10062 9



Add Review



April 27, 2013
The first track opens up with distant notes of a acoustic guitar followed by delicate ambiance in the backgroud, and this guitar element will be reemerging throught the better part of "Glaciation", at times forming soft harmonic patterns, other times just scattered around the sonic arrangement. Such composition conveys the feeling of a melting iceberg, with the guitar notes sounding like drops of water on the surface and the whole perception being that of a time slowly but inevitably passing by. This in turn is complemented by those melancholic ambient passages that create an slight feeling of a cold and secluded open space, completing the whole process and forming a coherent arrangement.
The fact that the tracks are fairly short, mostly clocking in at abt 3 min each, adds to the feeling of time passing by, with individual tracks acting as each fading phase.
Overall this is a solid ambient album with a hint of arctic air about it, one that manages to deliver on it's initial promise and idea without straying from the path.