Paul Esswood, Kathleen Livingstone, Nigel Foster (3), Bernard Partridge (3) ‎– The Arnold Dolmetsch Years - Programme Seven

Allegro Records ‎– PDC 1030


Concerto No.4 in C minor for Organ & Strings (John Stanley)
1 1st movement: Vivace 4:51
2 2nd movement: Andante-Affectuoso 3:40
3 3rd movement: Presto 4:03
Sonata in G minor for Violin with Harpsichord and Viola da Gamba (Henry Purcell)
4 Adagio - Allegro - Largo - Vivace 7:11
'Acis & Galatea' (George Frederic Handel)
5 Ye Verdant Plains (Recit from 'Acis & Galatea') 0:54
6 Hush Ye Pretty Warbling Quire (Aria from 'Acis & Galatea') 7:09
7 I Rage, I Melt, I Burn (Recit from 'Acis & Galatea') 1:35
8 O Ruddier Than The Cherry (Aria from 'Acis & Galatea') 3:24
Allemande Grave for Three Viols to the Organ (Henry du Mont)
9 Allemande Grave 5:29
Erbarme Dich, Mein Gott (Aria from St Matthew Passion) (Johann Sebastien Bach)
10 Erbarme Dich, Mein Gott 6:19
Jesus Schlaft - Was Soll Ich Hoffen (Aria from Cantata 81) (Johann Sebastien Bach)
11 Jesus Schlaft - Was Soll Ich Hoffen 4:31
Wer Eilen Mit Schwachen Doch Emsigen Schritten (Aria from Cantata 78) (Johann Sebastien Bach)
12 Wer Eilen Mit Schwachen Doch Emsigen Schritten 5:21



Live Recording
These performances, recorded live at St. John's, Smith Square, London, form part of an historic occasion, The Dolmetsch Years, twelve concert and a major exhibition in May 1990 marked the fiftieth anniversary of Arnold Dolmetsch's death and the first hundred years of the Early Music Movement.
The concept of playing music of the eighteenth century and earlier in the style and with the instruments of the period has expanded beyond anticipation. This event bought together more than sixty performers to pay tribute to the pioneer, catalyst and inspiration behind this phenomenon.
Comes with three fold booklet.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5010946103029