Paul Simon ‎– So Beautiful Or So What

Hear Music ‎– 0888072328365
CD, Album, Deluxe Edition, Limited Edition, Deluxe Limited Edition
DVD, Deluxe Limited Edition

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Getting Ready For Christmas Day
Backing Vocals [Background Harmony] – Edie BrickellDrums – Jim OblonGuitar [Electric And Acoustic Rhythm] – Vincent NguiniVocals [Excerpts From Sermon] – Reverend J.M. Gates With Congregation*Vocals, Electric Guitar, Percussion – Paul Simon
2 The Afterlife
Drums, Guitar [Slide Baritone] – Jim OblonElectric Guitar – Vincent NguiniVocals, Guitar [12 String Rhythm], Percussion – Paul Simon
3 Dazzling Blue
Backing Vocals – Doyle Lawson And Quicksilver*Dobro – Joshua SwiftFiddle – Gabe WitcherPercussion [Clay Pot] – V. Suresh-GhatamPercussion [Indian Ensemble, Vocal Syllables Of Percussion] – Karaikudi R. ManiTabla – V.B. MadhusadananVocals, Guitar [Electric And Acoustic], Percussion, Glockenspiel – Paul Simon
4 Rewrite
Kora – Yacouba SissokoPercussion [Tuned Bass Djembe, Talking Drum, Anglung, Glass Harp, Brushes], Bass – Steve ShehanVocals, Acoustic Guitar, Whistle, Percussion – Paul Simon
5 Love And Hard Times
Arranged By – Gil GoldsteinBass – David FinckCello – Jeanne Le Blanc*, Richard LockerClarinet – Charles Pillow, Mary AbtEnglish Horn – Diane LesserFlute – Elizabeth Mann*, Pamela Sklar, Sara CutlerPiano – Mick Rossi (2)Viola – Desiree Elsevier, Lois Martin, Vincent LiontiVocals, Acoustic Guitar, Bells – Paul Simon
6 Love Is Eternal Sacred Light
Backing Vocals – Doyle Lawson & QuicksilverDrums, Percussion, Electric Guitar [Drop D] – Jim OblonHarmonica [Solo] – Sonny TerryOther [Electronic Intro] – Chris BearPercussion [Brushes, Cymbal, Conga, Sticks] – Steve ShehanVocals, Electric Guitar [Lead], Percussion, Glockenspiel – Paul Simon
7 Amulet
Guitar – Paul Simon
8 Questions For The Angels
Celesta [Celeste] – Etienne StadwijkGong, Wind Chimes, Harp [96 Note] – Skip La PlanteHarp – Sara CutlerMarimba – Nancy ZeltsmanVocals, Guitar, Percussion – Paul Simon
9 Love & Blessings
Backing Vocals [Background Harmony] – Lulu SimonBass [Danelectro], Drums – Jim OblonClarinet – Dr. Michael WhiteVocals [Excerpts From 1938 Recording] – The Golden Gate Jubilee Quartet*Vocals, Guitar [Acoustic, Nylon And Moog], Percussion – Paul Simon
10 So Beautiful Or So What
Acoustic Guitar – Vincent NguiniBass, Resonator Guitar, Percussion [Angklung, Crotales, Saz] – Steve ShehanDrums – Jim OblonFlute [Bansuri] – Steve GornVocals, Electric Guitar, Glockenspiel – Paul Simon
DVD-1 The Making Of So Beautiful Or So What
DVD-2 "Getting Ready For Christmas Day" Music Video
DVD-3 "So Beautiful Or So What" Live Recording

Companies, etc.



Track 1, excerpts from "Getting Ready For Christmas Day" sermon, recorded October 1941 by Reverend J.M. Gates with congregation, used by permission of Document Records Ltd.

Track 6, excerpts from "Train Whistle Blues", used by permission of Document Records Ltd. and Modern Music Publishing Co.

Track 9, excerpts from "Golden Gate Gospel Train", recorded by The Golden Gate Jubilee Quartet in 1938, used by permission of Document Records Ltd.

DVD includes a video of The Making of So Beautiful or So What album, a live bonus audio track and more.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 8 88072 32836 5
  • Barcode (String): 888072328365

Other Versions (5 of 19) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
HRM-32814-02 Paul Simon So Beautiful Or So What(CD, Album, Dig) Hear Music, Concord Music Group HRM-32814-02 US 2011 Sell This Version
72328143 Paul Simon So Beautiful Or So What(CD, Album) Hear Music 72328143 Colombia 2011 Sell This Version
0888072328143 Paul Simon So Beautiful Or So What(CD, Album) Hear Music, Universal Music Group International 0888072328143 Europe 2011 Sell This Version
none Paul Simon So Beautiful Or So What(10xFile, FLAC, Album, 96k) Hear Music none US 2011
0888072328143 Paul Simon So Beautiful Or So What(CD, Album, Unofficial) Hear Music (2), Universal Music Group International 0888072328143 Russia 2011 Sell This Version